Skip to content

Character Dressing: Carrie Bradshaw

February 6, 2010

A big part of iconic dressing is being inspired by other icons. One great place to look for iconic style is in the movies. Think of Meryl Streep in “Out of Africa” or Audrey Hepburn in “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” – the style seen on the screen is still be reproduced on today’s runways. Movies are perfect because characters can get away with wearing things that we are “too practical” to wear, they are in a fantasy land…but why not take inspiration from them?

Probably, the most iconic character style of our time is Carrie Bradshaw in “Sex and the City”, and what I love most about her is that she wasn’t dictated so much by trend.. but by her own sense of style and flair. If you look back through the seasons, there is no time attached to her look. She just did what she did, often pulling in vintage pieces which made her eccentrically timeless.

Her character never got stuck in a rut, even when there were pieces being worn over and over (the sandals pictured above!), she was always trying new things and new ways to wear something. She was also a “statement piece” girl – using the Eiffel Tower as a purse, a studded belt cinching everything and hairstyles galore.

Be brave and do a little character dressing!

Follow my blog with bloglovin

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2010 8:04 am

    I’m so glad you posted this! Lately I have rekindled my obsession with Sex and the City and can’t stop watching the fourth season with Aidan *swoon*. It’s so hard to choose my favorite season of Carrie’s style because, like you said, she does her own thing and can’t be pinpointed into any particular year of fashion trends.

    http://teatoastblog.blogspot.com/

  2. February 7, 2010 12:43 am

    Fun post! Can’t wait for the new movie to come out!

  3. February 7, 2010 4:31 pm

    I love how Sex and the City and Clueless were such milestones in my own fashion evolution. So much of how I see fashion and trends always comes back to those two, somehow.

  4. February 9, 2010 2:27 am

    I love Carrie! Always will. That is the one tv show I never get tired of b/c I never get tired of her! I find something awesome that I hadn’t noticed before every time I watch an episode. She’s a fashion icon ALWAYS!

Leave a Reply

