Skip to content

Styling Tip: Wear a Kimono

April 29, 2010

It is funny how once you surround yourself with something it begins to rub off on you! Months will go by and I can’t get enough of one thing – maybe it is because the client I am working with and the vision I have created  for her has demanded a love for all things feminine, maybe it is my travels to a fabulous location that has me channeling 60’s jetsetters, or maybe it is research I am doing for an upcoming shoot that has me loving the pretty tough attitude – it always rubs off.

So of course, when writing the Style and Age story led me to dive back into the world of Catherine Baba, my love for the kimono jacket returned with a vengeance. I have a few kimono jackets that hang in my closet and they have been making an appearance daily. The kimono instantly gives off a grand-eccentric statement.

For a little kimono styling inspiration, I went to the queen of the look – jewelry designer Kelly Framel, she makes it work over and over again, reinventing it each time.

Take a cue from Kelly and wear it loose over a simple body-con dress and add fabulous embellishments, mix two prints in the same color scheme, or cinch it in with a obi belt over a short chic dress.

Pick up a kimono jacket at a local vintage store or search etsy and ebay!

One Comment leave one →
  1. TATTEVINY permalink
    May 26, 2010 6:16 pm

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

Leave a Reply

