Skip to content

The B. Jones Style Philosophy

June 2, 2010

Photo Credit: John French via ByGoneFashion

You may have already noticed this, but here at B. Jones Style, our philosophy is to never consider yourself overdressed! Dressing up is one of the things that make being a woman so much fun, so why should we shy away from it?

I don’t know how this happened, but we have entered into a time when being dressed up is looked at as “trying too hard” or asks the question “why are you so dressed up?” – I say, “why aren’t you dressed up?”.

Up until thirty years ago, women would never consider not dressing up – running errands, meeting for lunch or even traveling meant wearing a dress, gloves, hat, perfectly coiffed hair and makeup. Now we think, “oh.. I am just going to the store” or “getting on a flight” so that means dressing down.

I am not saying that we should go back to a time when women were put in the box of “she is just there to look good”, but I am saying that we should embrace our femininity and freedom. We are strong women who should enhance how amazing and beautiful we are!

No, this doesn’t mean we all need to pull on a pair of gloves and wear a hat when we leave the house, but what about creating a great look that makes us feel good, powerful and ready to conquer the day.

Even if you are a simple jeans-and-tee kind of girl, throw on the chic with a few strands of pearls, a cardi and brightly colored flats. If you are ready to really step it up, take a cue from the women above and throw on a fabulous day dress, a pair of heels, and.. why not.. a statement hat!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2010 6:18 am

    I agree. I love dressing up and wearing hats, even to run an errand. Why not! It’s fun being a dressed up woman.

    http://singaturestyle.blogspot.com/

  2. Susi permalink
    June 2, 2010 6:47 am

    Could not agree more!! We have turned into a very sloppy nation- I think we can turn the tide. I hope so anyway.

  3. June 2, 2010 7:34 am

    Very true!
    That’s exactly why I have always related to Mae West’s great quote “I’d rather be looked over, than over-looked.” Especially in an industry that banks on image. As a hairstylist, I feel if I don’t have a defined image, then how can I presume that my guests will entrust me with their own image. Part of that is rising to the occasion or creating your own occasion when one does not present itself. Any excuse to doll up!

  4. June 2, 2010 11:40 am

    I love the looks I get when I run to the grocery store ‘dressed’ up.

  5. Janelle permalink
    June 2, 2010 1:47 pm

    Preach it Beth! “Why aren’t you dressed up?” = LOVE THIS🙂

  6. June 14, 2010 10:59 pm

    Absolutely – I love getting dressed up and there is really no excuse to look sloppy, as you say Beth it doesn’t have to be high heels and hats every day but just making that extra bit of effort makes all the difference. As a stylist and personal shopper in the UK I try to get that point over to all my clents.

  7. June 17, 2010 5:01 pm

    I couldn’t agree more, Beth! Embracing femininity and valuing ourselves, allowing ourselves to be who we are and who we want to be. Hip hip! for that. Thanks for such a lovely positive post.

Leave a Reply

