Skip to content

Iconic Style with a Modern Twist: Anne Shirley

June 4, 2010

Iconic Style with a Modern Twist: Anne

Iconic Style with a Modern Twist: Anne by B. Jones Style featuring TopShop dresses

Let me admit, I am a total romantic! I weep at a good love story, I get goosebumps when I see a passionate kiss and I sigh when feelings are revealed. So of course, growing up I was a sucker for the Anne of Green Gables saga – I loved Anne with an “e”,  the “depths of despair” and the “ladies of shallot”. I also remember dreaming of dressing in one gorgeous gown with puff sleeves and pinning a crown of flowers in my hair as I dashed off to a ball, it may have been my first fashion inspiration.

This summer is a perfect time to pull out the romantic in you and be inspired by “Carrots” (a reference only readers will understand). Wear a sweet sundress and pair it with lace up sandals, a straw hat and a “carpet bag” purse.

Your might just see the world a little sweeter, a little softer and full of dreams.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2010 5:33 am

    This is one of my all time favorites! What a great post🙂 It totally made my afternoon to see someone appreciate “puffed sleeves” as much as me. I almost named my blog after an Anne of Green Gables reference!

  2. June 4, 2010 6:16 am

    I’ve always loved the way you style the outfits Beth, and your posts are always inspirational, thanks for this, the romantic is definitely one of the looks that I will try this summer, xoxo

  3. jessie permalink
    June 5, 2010 12:51 am

    Oh, you’re killing me — my sister and I lived for this series growing up. I was obsessed with that off white dress with the floral touches…gonna have to cue this up on the next rainy weekend!

  4. June 5, 2010 2:07 am

    I❤ Anne of Green Gables! I've watched each movie about 100 times! I used to play it all the time with my grandma!🙂

  5. June 5, 2010 2:47 am

    love this dress and the hat is adorable!❤

    http://www.abitoffashion.com

  6. June 5, 2010 7:06 am

    Best. movie. ever. And what about Gilbert! Le sigh. I think those were the only books I’ve ever cried at. Also, I think my life-long quest of becoming a redhead may have started with Anne. (And the little mermaid)😉

  7. libby permalink
    June 8, 2010 2:02 am

    you took the words right out of my mouth??? kindred spirits perhaps??

  8. June 8, 2010 11:27 am

    I’ve never seen the movies. However, I love the books. LOVE the books.

    And this post. The thought of being a modern Anne Shirley never occured to me. I love that dress, by the way. And Gilbert Blythe. Yum.

Leave a Reply

