Skip to content

Summer Country: Day Two

June 24, 2010

Ah, the smell of pine trees and the lap of the lake waves hitting the shore – it really doesn’t get much better than this. I’m a definite city girl and I relish spending the days walking the streets, stopping in at a cafe and browsing the racks of a fabulous boutique, but whenever I come up to the mountains – something changes. Life seems sweeter and I step back to enjoy the simple pleasures – riding a bike, sipping coffee on a sun-soaked deck and taking a walk just for the heck of it.

Keeping with my “glamping” inspiration, I took it literal today pulling on my army high-waist shorts with my khaki button down shirt. My penny loafers have been a staple since early winter, and they were the perfect comfy yet stylish shoe for the outdoors.

In my mind, being on holiday is the best time to work hats into your look – you are away from home, not running errands or sitting in traffic – it is time! I found an old straw hat that was a little too floppy so keeping with the girl scout mentality – I made it work. I pinned it back with a vintage brooch and slipped on my aviator shades.

Now back to enjoying nature ~ with a little panache!

(everything is vintage except for the Target sunglasses)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2010 2:06 am

    wow, you look amazing, wow wow wow, xoxo

  2. June 24, 2010 2:24 am

    Great outfit! I love the whole thing.

  3. Sing permalink
    June 24, 2010 3:22 am

    Yes yes yes. Love the idea of pinning a floppy hat back, must try that!

  4. June 24, 2010 3:58 am

    Wow! Love it! & I love the new word “glamping.”🙂

  5. June 24, 2010 9:44 am

    i love this look, the shorts are so awesome.

  6. June 24, 2010 11:12 am

    amazing vintage outfit! I love the shorts! Looks fun!

  7. June 24, 2010 11:38 am

    Thanks everyone! Yes, these shorts were a find. I discovered them last year right about the time Chloe had showed something similar.. and I thought.. these are a must-have!

  8. June 24, 2010 2:40 pm

    i adore this safari inspired look!!! really chic!!

    Animated Confessions

  9. June 25, 2010 12:10 am

    love this.
    those shorts are amazing. and you can’t beat the penny loafers.

    adorable.

    thanks for sharing!

    workyourcloset.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

