Skip to content

Life is a Circus

September 7, 2010

I love how life can inspire a look – books read, movies watched, art perused, people scouted – everything can influence!

Summer is a time I dive into loads of books and escape into worlds unknown, and one that came off the stack was “Water For Elephants”. Instantly I was transported into the depression era and the exotic world of the circus. After crying and loving my way through the book I became intrigued to see and learn more of the time and lifestyle. I remembered a movie I loved as a girl, “Wild Hearts Can’t Be Broken“, was filled with circus acts and 1930’s depression era dressing. I was swept into the costumes inspired by the time and the life a stable hand – there were high waist riding pants, tight tanks, pageboy hats and a classic color palette – I couldn’t get enough!

Inspired, I took it to the streets.

(Vintage Anne Klein Blazer, Ralph Lauren Stripe Tank – Crossroads Trading Co., Vintage Shorts, Platform Sandals – Steve Madden, Vintage Mulberry Satchel – Blondie Vintage London, Vintage Hat, Michael Kors Watch)

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 6:17 am

    just found ur blog. love it

    xoxo,
    F

    http://lekisskiss.blogspot.com <– Texas gal bloggin fashion from NYC!

  2. September 7, 2010 7:37 am

    So in love with that bag.

  3. heatherfonseca permalink
    September 7, 2010 7:46 am

    Great look. I especially love the purse.

  4. September 7, 2010 8:31 am

    Love your outfit and what great inspiration, I read ‘Water for Elephants’ earlier this summer and loved it!

  5. September 7, 2010 8:57 am

    hands down one of my favorite looks on you. It is perfection. I am drooling over those vintage shorts. I need a pair like them. I never seem to find the right ones. Looking great Beth!

  6. September 7, 2010 11:08 am

    Love, Love, Love these shorts!!

    BEE

    http://www.atlantic-pacific.blogspot.com

  7. September 7, 2010 12:01 pm

    OMG that was one of my favorite movies when I was young. It would make me cry everytime i watched it. But youre right, that time period is very fun and inspiring!

  8. September 7, 2010 5:05 pm

    this is gorgeous!!

  9. September 7, 2010 5:23 pm

    Like Whitney, “Wild Hearts Can’t Be Broken” was one of my favorite movies as a girl. It was heartbreaking and inspiring all at once. I had almost forgotten how much I loved it. Thanks for reminding me! And beautiful outfit today…I’ve been enjoying high-waisted shorts and striped tees recently as well but with more of a 1940s twist.

  10. September 7, 2010 9:08 pm

    great look, and I loved Wild Hearts so much too!

  11. September 8, 2010 1:32 am

    i love your outfit

  12. September 8, 2010 5:33 am

    I love your bag.. I’ve been looking for something similar!

    http://7deadlycyns.blogspot.com/

  13. September 9, 2010 8:37 am

    This look is so amazing, you look so stunning! x

  14. September 9, 2010 7:58 pm

    David keeps telling me to read that book…. just showed him this post and he said,”See!” haha Guess I’m going to be reading it. Also, your outfit is fantastic.

Leave a Reply

