Skip to content

It Started with My Glasses

September 17, 2010

It started with my glasses. Having to wear them today meant building a look around them. I am funny that way.. for me glasses mean a certain look…what compliments, accents and shows them off the best.

I envisioned my black framed glasses with a pop of orange on the lips, big curly hair and a neutral palette everywhere else. So this is how I built my look. Glasses.. lips.. hair.. and then a cream pleated skirt and cream sweater. Peering in the mirror, I decided I wanted a little cutesy-girly touch, so I pinned on a bow!

…and to think it all started with my glasses.

(Sweater and Skirt – Vintage, Leopard Print Heels – Sam Edelman, Bow Pin – Forever 21, Watch – Michael Kors, Glasses – Club Monaco)

A hair moment: With glasses as my inspiration I wanted my hair to be a mass of curls and softness.. this led me to tease my spiral curls into a Bardot-inspired pony.. it worked right into my pleats and bows!

Follow me on Twitter and Bloglovin

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2010 6:47 am

    Gorgeous! Love this whole look. I’ve been looking everywhere for a skirt like that in any color but have had no luck:\ This looks stunning on you and it’s styled perfectly. Love the hair and lips!
    beijos-Tiffany-http://imashoewhore.blogspot.com

    • September 17, 2010 9:35 am

      Tiffany, glad you like the look! Search online vintage sources like etsy and ebay or if you are in the mood to dig.. head to a thrift store. They seem to pop up there alot!

  2. September 17, 2010 9:38 am

    lovely.

  3. September 17, 2010 9:41 am

    i imagine your closet looking like Carey’s from Sex in the City! Love this look, very 50’s. I too wore my vintage glasses today because, well, I just love them!!!!!

    • September 17, 2010 9:42 am

      Ah! I wish my closet looked like Carries.. it is super small.. but I make it work! Basically my whole room is my closet!

  4. September 17, 2010 10:17 am

    You and your whole outfit – you look absolutely breath taking and gorgeous! Wonderful outfit!

    I am forced to wear my glasses too at the moment, but haven’t really been good at building a good outfit around it, let alone a gorgeous one like you wear!

  5. September 17, 2010 10:21 am

    You look absolutely beautiful!! So classic, I love it!

  6. September 17, 2010 11:01 am

    Thanks V. and Rachel!

  7. September 17, 2010 11:37 am

    WOW amazing outfit , love it. I love when one small detail inspires a whole look.

  8. September 17, 2010 2:42 pm

    Yow.

    This is so excellent I can’t even stand it.

    The kicker for me is the bow! A bow! So simple, but it really is what makes me want to do a little dance about this.

    And I must say, that middle photo of you is pretty frame-worthy. Seriously. If it were me, I would put it on the fridge🙂

    .Haiku

  9. Cindy permalink
    September 17, 2010 5:47 pm

    I used to have that skirt! Now I wish I would have held onto it. I even had it in ivory and another one like it in Navy. You look stunning – as usual. P.S. I love the new hair videos – we are trying as many as we can!

  10. September 17, 2010 8:38 pm

    Amazing blog! So glad I found you through Sterling Style! The glasses, the vintage look, I love it all!

    xx

    http://novembergrey.com/

  11. September 18, 2010 4:20 pm

    I love this look!!!

    jen
    http://blankwhiteframes.blogspot.com

  12. September 19, 2010 6:18 am

    This is so Sandra Dee, and I love it SO much!!

  13. September 29, 2010 8:30 am

    K, right, you’re amazing.

Leave a Reply

