Skip to content

The Material Girl

October 14, 2010

(Denim shirt and Lace Skirt – Thrifted, Boots – Jeffrey Campbell, Necklace – Loehmanns)

I don’t know what happened, but this little lace skirt brought out the 80’s Madonna in me! I found the lace skirt while thrifting and reinvented it by removing the lining – see through.. so I wore some black spandex biker shorts underneath – man if that doesn’t sound 8o’s I don’t know what does.

Sticking with the “Material Girl” vibe I tied up a denim shirt, iced it off with my rock n’ roll pile of necklaces and wore my most rockin’ boots possible.

A Hair Moment: What a better way to dive into the 80’s, than with a killer high ponytail.

 

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2010 7:11 am

    Umm I love the skirt and that it looks like and is a slip. I have a slip that is shorter that I wear under my see through dresses and skirts that looks kind of like that!

  2. October 14, 2010 7:40 am

    Love this look. I adore your lace skirt, it’s so pretty and feminine. It’s a great find!

  3. Cris permalink
    October 14, 2010 7:46 am

    Hi, I’m a longtime reader of your blog but first time commentator. Just wanted to say that I love how prolific you’ve been recently with the wonderful posts. I love logging in in the morning to find another of your great outfits and nice words. Also congrats on the Stylit book, such a great idea. x

  4. October 14, 2010 8:11 am

    Love the skirt, but nothing beats a killer ponytail-love it! Oh gosh, now I’m having flashbacks of me trying to emulate Cindy Lauper…

  5. chichichic permalink
    October 14, 2010 9:36 am

    adore adore adore! you’ve def. inspired an outfit or two (of twenty) of mine….

  6. October 14, 2010 9:45 am

    gorgeous! love the look. i hate how you make me want to go thrifting b/c toronto like nyc is having a bedbug outbreak and i’m too afraid… it’s been months since i got to do one of my favourite things.

  7. chichichic permalink
    October 14, 2010 10:06 am

    i meant (or twenty) not of twenty. typo!

  8. October 14, 2010 4:44 pm

    love your look!

    another question–do you think this look could work with an ivory/cream lace skirt (that’s actually a dress?) my rehearsal dinner dress is a strapless lace dress. I want to wear it with something else to dress it down (and also get some more wear out of it given that i’ve worn it twice and it’s now 8 years old!) i wore it with an army green button down belted and gold heals but I’m looking for MORE. thanks!

    p.s. as child of the 80’s i think you should rock the side pony next time.😉

    • October 14, 2010 9:03 pm

      Thanks for the question. I think the lace dress would look great with a denim shirt. This dress would also be great during the winter with black opaque tights and black platform heels with a blazer or trench layered over it. Hope this helps.

  9. October 14, 2010 5:49 pm

    cute outfit!! I love the juxtaposition of the lace with the denim top….can’t wait to see what tomorrow brings.

    jen
    http://blankwhiteframes.blogspot.com

  10. Judy Dunning permalink
    October 15, 2010 2:39 pm

    I love your eye makeup here! I love all your style posts – you are a talented lady! I strive to have even an ounce of style!

  11. October 16, 2010 6:18 pm

    Loving the whole outfit, the skirt is perfection!
    xo
    http://flordemariafashion.com/

  12. October 17, 2010 8:51 am

    This is such a lovely outfit! You look wonderful.

  13. October 18, 2010 1:12 pm

    GREAT OUTFIT – I love it all!
    very innovative way of re-purposing the skirt – the biker shorts with the lace are KILLER, the denim beautiful, and all accessories make this whole look = PERFECTION !

    I HAVE to find a skirt like this now!!

    Love your blog!

    ash

    http://www.countrygirlcityworld.com

Leave a Reply

