Skip to content

Colorblocking

November 11, 2010




(Vintage Gaultier Blazer – Narnia, Red Tunic – F21 via Crossroads Trading Co, Pink Pants – Revivals Palm Springs, Pumps – Aldo)

Colorblocking may be the most fun way of dressing..ever! After scoring these hot pink trousers while thrifting my through Palm Springs, I knew I would do a bit of colorblocking with them.

Colorblocking is easy! Find a few pieces in your wardrobe that are all solid colors.. start pairing them together in fun and creative ways. They can be all shades of the same color family (a few tones of brown or red) or they can be a mix of crazy colors. You want to have at least three pieces to work with.. for me that was my vintage Gaultier Orange Blazer, a red silk tunic and the hot pink pants.

Start colorblocking!

A Hair Moment: Feeling color-bold I wanted my hair to be easy and free so I went with tousled side swept look. Try it out here!

Follow me on Twitter and Bloglovin

36 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2010 7:17 am

    I’m so nervous to try color blocking! It looks amazing on you, but I’m afraid I’ll look silly. I love your style!!

  2. Danna permalink
    November 11, 2010 7:25 am

    I’ve never heard of color blocking…after seeing this amazing outfit, I can’t wait to try. Your lipstick matches those pants almost to a T.

  3. Jessica permalink
    November 11, 2010 7:37 am

    WOWzers! I really like this collection of color. Good choices! I like how you repeated the pink up top by adding the lipstick.

  4. November 11, 2010 7:37 am

    I have never been brave enough to mix pinks with much of anything outside of blacks or maybe whites, but this looks fantastic! I am going to have to take a page from your book and start mixing it up. Thanks for the inspiration to be braver!

  5. November 11, 2010 7:39 am

    OMG this is brialliant! The colors are spectacular, especially on a cold dreary day.

    –Katie

  6. November 11, 2010 7:59 am

    YES! I am in love with this outfit. Loving how the colors pop against each other.

  7. November 11, 2010 8:02 am

    How awesome is that orange blazer, great combination of colors! I have always loved bright pink and orange together, I am not sure why but I just love that color combo. Great outfit, as always.

  8. November 11, 2010 8:06 am

    Colorblocking is one of my favorite looks! I need to try is myself one of these days…it looks great on you! So bright and cheery🙂

  9. November 11, 2010 8:26 am

    I really love this. I would not have thought to put this together at all. It looks fabulous!

  10. November 11, 2010 8:40 am

    i love this. this really breaks the boundaries! we all need to think outside of the box and this is a great example of this.
    when i’m done with the 30×30 remix I will definitely try this.

    thanks🙂

    http://www.workyourcloset.com

  11. November 11, 2010 8:41 am

    This color combination is gorgeous, and the nude shoes are perfect. I love that you went with a bold lip, as well!

    Santina

  12. November 11, 2010 9:18 am

    Fantastic look! Very brave to wear such strong colours together, I love it!🙂

  13. November 11, 2010 10:53 am

    Perfectly done. I like the nude heels.

  14. November 11, 2010 11:22 am

    wow! what a great match! Love bright colours, I wish I will be able to wear them all year long.

    Ylenia
    http://longuette.blogspot.com

  15. November 11, 2010 12:23 pm

    OMG, what a combo! I love it! And I love your shoes. And your hair!!

    xxx
    -M-

  16. November 11, 2010 1:37 pm

    I love this look! It’s so fun, you executed color blocking brilliantly. And I adore your lipstick!

  17. November 11, 2010 2:30 pm

    I love it! So bold and beautiful!! Great colors! Love the heels and lips!

  18. November 11, 2010 7:07 pm

    I swear, you could wear a paper bag & look amazing! Loving this look!! I think you’ve inspired me to try something similar x

  19. November 12, 2010 12:45 am

    B. Jones i will never tire to tell you thst your pants always rock!!! i love colour and you’ve totallylured me to this outfit!!! i got a pair of blue pants yesterday and am gonna colour block my outfit!! http://www.fashionablenotebook.blogspot.com

  20. Meryn Thunen permalink
    November 12, 2010 8:28 am

    I LOVE LOVE this look! Can’t wait to try something similar. And I work for Aldo so of course I love your shoes🙂

  21. chichichic permalink
    November 12, 2010 8:42 am

    great pants! love how they match your lipstick!

  22. November 12, 2010 9:13 am

    I just have to tell you that I am in love with this! well I love it all! I think I have a blog crush! thank you for all your inspiring photos and post!

    NAt

  23. November 12, 2010 11:07 am

    I absolutely love these colors together. You look amazing!

  24. November 12, 2010 1:32 pm

    What a creative outfit! I love your color choices – I need to try this out for myself!

    – Meredith

  25. November 12, 2010 3:42 pm

    I love this outfit. You’ve got me wanting to colorblock!

  26. November 15, 2010 12:08 pm

    Your use of color here is sick, wrong, and fabulous.

    Merci!
    Shannan

  27. November 16, 2010 1:11 pm

    LOVE these bright colors together. WELL DONE!!!

    brit
    http://www.wewhoshop.wordpress.com

  28. November 17, 2010 5:26 am

    You look amazing!
    Great comination of colors!

  29. January 13, 2011 7:02 am

    Just found your blog through What I Wore…I am seriously dying over how gorgeous these colors look on you! I, too, am a big fan of saturated, bright hues, so I’ll definitely be back to visit your blog. Bravo!

  30. January 13, 2011 8:51 am

    oh, i want this outfit so badly! love it!🙂

  31. January 15, 2011 7:03 am

    Whoa, great outfit!

    I’ve seen colour blocking done in editorials but this is the first time I’ve seen some other non-modelesque/designer pull it off.

    Well done!

  32. January 18, 2011 6:28 am

    absolute LOVE! the colors are just wow!

Trackbacks

  1. Trend: Color Blocking
  2. Pink, Tangerine, & Everything in Between. |
  3. Color Blocking!! « Fabulous You're It

Leave a Reply

