Skip to content

B. Styled Shopping: Crossroads Trading Co.

January 14, 2011

Welcome to a new feature of B. Jones Style, B. Styled Shopping!

As you may have noticed, I am not the traditional shopper.. don’t get me wrong.. I love going to a mall or local boutique, but when it really comes down to it I shop (spend) in unique places.

Shopping gets exciting in thrift stores, antique malls, buy/sell/trade stores, flea markets, estate sales.. and on and on..

Since my methods are less than usual, I thought I would let you in on where, how and what I shop. You will enter the doors of my favorite places, peruse the aisles, see how I make decisions and find out what I buy.

For my premiere B. Styled Shopping feature.. I decided to start with one of my favorites, Crossroads Trading Co. I have picked up so many treasures at this buy/sell/trade store, it was only right that I begin here.

Let’s see where, how and what… Crossroads Style.

 

I hit up Crossroads right at opening hours to beat the crowd and find all the goodies first.

 

Since Crossroads is a buy/sell/trade, there is a lot to choose from, and some may get overwhelmed with all the options, so to make things a little easier I refer back to STYLIT’s “Shopping List for Style” and see what I am currently craving. This month it is anything with wide legs, solids for color-blocking, neon brights, bold-graphic prints and black jeans.. planning for spring is on the mind.. as you can tell.

And so the shopping begins..

 

I always glance to the clothes hung on the walls before I dig through the racks. This is where Crossroads displays “hot” name brand and designer items for everyone to see. If I don’t have a ton of time to shop, I may just run in, check out the walls and pick out a few favorites.. some “wall finds” have been a Chloe dress and Prada Boots.

 

Then I hit the racks..the first delicious find is seafoam high-waisted pants.. yes please!

 

The shoes are displayed on top of the racks which makes it fun to multi-task your shopping.. sift through a section of the rack.. then glance at the shoes.. sift..glance..sift.. glance.

 

Because color is a big priority on this trip, I only choose to look at sections of the rack that hold the colors I am looking for.. today it’s pinks, corals, oranges and yellows.. on every rack.

 

Ah.. the designer labels that are found in one day of shopping at Crossroads.. Seriously.. Marc Jacobs, DVF, Prada and Jenni Kayne.. and no, the prices are not high.. these babies are all under $50…and I am not even kidding.

 

Before I head back to the dressing room, I make one final swoop.. just checking to make sure there isn’t anything left behind.

 

As you can see.. I stuck to my plan.. bright solid colors, graphic prints and spring goodness.

 

Then comes the fun part.. trying everything on! I love when music surrounds the dressing room and the energy gets going. I know I have found a must-have when I want to dance around the room..

 

Trying on the PRADA.. so interesting.. and worth a look in the three-way mirror..

..of course there is much more dressing and undressing.. but that’s my private little moment.

 

Finally, it comes down to the hard part.. making the decisions.

First, I cast-off all my no’s and then lay out everything I love. I look through it all again.. what do I want today.. what is important to me today.. what is easy to find other places.. what is special? These questions determine my decisions.

Today’s decisions were made based on quality not quantity and preparing for spring.

So.. what did I get…

The white Jenni Kayne Dress (yum.. and so perfect for spring and summer), the neon pink Karta blouse with the flower detail at the neck (so Miu Miu), and the Fremont jumpsuit with wide leg pants (can’t you just see this with a straw hat and sandals).

 

Recently, I won the Chictopia/Crossroads “Impress for Less” contest, which awarded me a VIP card.. making buying and selling so much more fun!

 

My mind is made up.. I head to the counter to chat with my favorite Crossroad’s girls and purchase all my finds. Outfits start swirling in my head.. and I can’t wait to get home and make them my own.

 

I’m a happy girl as I leave Crossroads.. I have scored some amazing designer duds and I’m getting set for spring. The best part.. I could come back to Crossroads tomorrow and find even more treasures. That is the beauty of this shop!

I hope you enjoyed my adventure into Crossroads Trading Co., and it let you in on where, how and what I shop.

If you want to buy/sell/or trade at Crossroads, there are locations listed here! (I shop the Costa Mesa location)

(My outfit included: Blazer and Blouse – thrifted, Overalls – Lee, Boots – Jeffrey Campbell, Hat – Urban Outfitters)

PHOTOS BY LAUREL DAILEY

46 Comments leave one →
  1. Patricia permalink
    January 14, 2011 7:16 am

    Bjones i absolutely loved this post, that is a great store! that brands for less than $50 are a great find!
    my favorite one is the pink blouse, gorgeous.
    i can´t wait for more!!

  2. January 14, 2011 7:21 am

    I love your finds, especially the pink flower Karta top, it definitely seems like a you piece.🙂

    I always try to make Crossroads a stop when I go to CA. I’ve found some great pieces while shopping there.

  3. January 14, 2011 7:25 am

    Beth that shot of you hugging the clothes is hilarious! This looks like such a great place to find unique pieces! The photos by Laurel are gorgeous. xx

    • January 14, 2011 9:15 am

      Thanks Jennifer! Yes.. I usually am a little ridiculous🙂 Glad you like Laurel’s photos. I always love working with her.

  4. January 14, 2011 8:06 am

    Really good shop!!!

    http://WWW.RENEBRAUN.COM

    You are welcome to visit my blog :))

  5. January 14, 2011 8:50 am

    I couldn’t love this post anymore…so adorable.
    Unfortunately I can’t think of a single place as fabulous as that in New Jersey…if you know of any, please share!

    You have made shopping fun but practical.
    Love it!
    C

  6. January 14, 2011 8:54 am

    This is a very interesting shopping journey which we don’t have in spore! Can’t wait to see what remix you will come up with those finds and will definitely try colourblocking sometime soon!!!

  7. January 14, 2011 9:03 am

    I’m so bummed there is no Crossroads on the East Coast. My friend works for the company and has raved about it for the past 2 years, but I just never seem to make it out to Cali to visit her or Crossroads.

    • January 14, 2011 9:13 am

      Maybe some day! They do have a few Buffalo Exchange stores on the East Coast. Depending on where you are location, there is Boston, NewYork and Philadelphia.

  8. January 14, 2011 9:05 am

    God I so love this kind of stores! And those shoes are amazing! I find similar stores here, but they don’t sell such cool stuff, rarely.

    • January 14, 2011 9:14 am

      Sometimes it is those stores that have the best pieces.. not designer labels but some vintage from the 70’s or 80’s. Kind of what you find in a thrift store.

  9. chichichic! permalink
    January 14, 2011 9:44 am

    OMG i need to go there, next trip to cali!

  10. January 14, 2011 9:50 am

    amazing feature. i wish we had something like this in toronto.

  11. January 14, 2011 10:02 am

    Great post! I love to see how other people shop! By the way, I think I have those seafoam high waist pants you were holding up. Were they American Apparel? They are quite delicious!

    • January 14, 2011 10:14 am

      Yes… you nailed it! They are American Apparel. I didn’t buy them because there were a few more things I wanted more.. but maybe if they are still there next time I go.

  12. Joanna Gregory permalink
    January 14, 2011 12:01 pm

    Beth, this has to be the best post I have ever read anywhere!!
    so much fun and so informative.. felt like I was right there with you🙂

    Can’t wait for the next shopping adventure! yay!!!!!! x

    Joanna x

    • January 14, 2011 12:11 pm

      Ah.. such a sweet comment. I am so glad you like this post.. and there will be many more to come.

  13. January 14, 2011 1:11 pm

    What a great post! I agree with Joanna…feels like I am right there along side you! Can’t wait for more. Btw, that Karta blouse is going to be so much fun to work with this Spring. Looking forward to the outfits that ensue!

  14. stephanie permalink
    January 14, 2011 1:38 pm

    ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, i love this post. so fun to share in your shopping adventure! and i love that i am an orange county girl too and will be visiting that store as soon as my january shopping hiatus is OVER. (can’t come soon enough!) these pictures put me in a good mood and you look adorable. so very at home, shall i say?

    happy weekend!

  15. January 14, 2011 1:38 pm

    Loved this post! I can’t wait to see how your incorporate these items into outfits.

    This makes me want to go visit this company, too, so I think you’ve accomplished a great promotion here.

  16. Crispy Tuna permalink
    January 14, 2011 2:43 pm

    Love this new feature! It is really great to see the thought process going into certain purchases, can’t wait to see these outfits!

  17. January 14, 2011 6:57 pm

    I love this post so so much!! I wish I had a store like this close to me, the shoes on top thing is brilliant! I don’t mind digging in racks but it truly would be nice to have some where to go that is organized thoughtfully.

  18. Jen Smith permalink
    January 14, 2011 7:44 pm

    I LOVEEEE this post!! I totally agree that you have to go often and early. Its hard for a 9 to 5er like me to get to these places first thing in the am so I go when I can and as often as I can. Loveeee the Karta blouse you snagged.

    Jen
    http://blankwhiteframes.blogspot.com

  19. January 14, 2011 7:48 pm

    *gasp* They have 3 Chicago locations! I must go this weekend to look (although I wonder if everyone goes on the weekend…)

    I love seeing how other people shop, I find it so interesting! I actually do my best shopping when I’m on my own, so I can think with a clear head when making these crucial decisions😉

  20. Christina permalink
    January 14, 2011 10:27 pm

    I love this post & wish I was lived near this store!

  21. January 14, 2011 11:50 pm

    My husband always finds great jeans at Crossroads. Great post! I just sold some things there Wednesday!

    p.s good choice on the pink top!

  22. January 15, 2011 1:05 am

    I just came across your blog tonight and I’m hooked!!
    I am so excited to come across this post in particular because I go to school in Costa Mesa
    and have been to Buffalo Exchange at The Lab but have never heard of Crossroads!!
    I will be check them out asap – I would love to know about any other vintage/ consignment shops
    that top your list for around here (clothing & home).

    And P.s. your Stylit is genius!! I will be purchasing one.

    http://laurenlovestoshare.blogspot.com/

  23. Amber L permalink
    January 15, 2011 3:59 am

    What a fun post! Thanks for sharing, I really enjoyed it.

  24. marieta permalink
    January 15, 2011 2:44 pm

    great post! thanks for sharing yous favourite shopping places!

  25. January 15, 2011 11:23 pm

    You’re so adorable. What a wonderful post. I appreciate when bloggers take the time to expand on their blog and venture out on more than just “outfit posts”. Great analysis and breakdown of Crossroads. Awesome B!

    xx,
    Christina

  26. January 16, 2011 8:06 am

    Great findings!!!!Please visit our blog

    http://fromustwoyou.blogspot.com/

    xoxox Cybelle and Fabi

  27. January 16, 2011 10:35 am

    such a cool little feature!!! thanks for sharing!!

  28. January 16, 2011 10:59 am

    I have become obsessed with your blog just by this post alone. I’m so glad to have run into your blog for your style is amazing.

  29. January 16, 2011 1:43 pm

    I love your style!

    come to see my blog:
    http://www.stylishmaniac.blogspot.com

  30. January 16, 2011 2:41 pm

    Hey Beth!!! What a super cute post!! I love Crossroads too and live down the street from the one on Melrose!!!! I’ve got some rad stuff from there too – like an obsessive Western purse & Tsubi overalls, yum!! I would love to meet up with u and go on a lil shopping trip one day or go for lunch and the flea market!!! Love your blog as always!
    xoxoxo
    Chloe & the Beckerman Girls
    xoxoxo
    http://www.beckermanbiteplate.com

    • January 16, 2011 11:10 pm

      That sounds amazing.. send me a little email and we can set something up.

  31. January 16, 2011 7:42 pm

    Thanks for sharing your shopping trip. I love digging through thrift stores looking for that one special item. It was fun to shop vicariously through your blog!

  32. January 16, 2011 7:46 pm

    Ahh been waiting for this post for so long!!

  33. January 17, 2011 6:06 am

    Such a great post. I’m really sad now that that store isn’t in Holland. Def inspired me to give the vintage shops etc more of a chance. Going hunting soon.
    xx

    Emy

    http://sweetpromises.tumblr.com/

  34. January 17, 2011 10:06 pm

    I love this post. I wish I had a Crossroads on the East Coast; such great finds! All the good thrift stores around here tend to price their designer thrifts too high for my wallet😦
    Can’t wait to see how you style your finds though. All of your posts are so inspiring, I love ’em!

  35. January 18, 2011 7:01 am

    you are amazing. the end.🙂

  36. eat.sleep.wear. permalink
    January 18, 2011 4:56 pm

    um hello. this place is a mecca for CLOTHES!!! WHY DO I LIVE IN PHILLY AND NOT THERE!!

    If only we all had this at our fingertips. As always, your a little jewl of style. And we love you for that! Hopefully I will get a chance to meet you at NYFW. woot woot!

    xo, Kim http://www.eatsleepwear.com

  37. bethanie permalink
    January 20, 2011 10:43 pm

    love the strategy. thanks for sharing! you’re amazing. good eye!

  38. January 23, 2011 1:12 pm

    thanks for sharing this super fun shopping-post. I’m still in deep winter mood, spring feels so far away that i only shop a lot of warming winter pieces at sale on high street.

    http://wardrobexperience.blogspot.com

  39. January 25, 2011 11:34 am

    Love your blog! Especially this post with your stylit (saving up to get it! I love the concept even though I already have a great planner for 2011, I just want it!) and your thrift shopping trip! I’ve got to get out to the west coast for great shopping! Thanks! xox-riv

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention B. Styled Shopping: Crossroads Trading Co. « B. Jones Style -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

