Skip to content

Swapped Sequins

January 18, 2011




(Blazer – Thrifted, Sequins Tank – On Loan from Jessica Quirk, Tee – Michael Stars via Crossroads, Pants – Mayle via Crossroads, Shoes – Jeffrey Campbell, Bag – Thrifted)

So like I mentioned.. I was honored to be a part of a fun little swap with Jessica from the powerhouse fashion blog, What I Wore.

Jessica has been doing this crazy thing called blogging as far back as when I was doing “The Vintage Society”. We swapped stories and comments way back then.. but this time around.. we thought it would be fun to take it to the next level.

Both of us love using vintage in our daily outfits, so we very carefully sent our loved items across the country to see how the other would wear it.. Vintage Swap Extravaganza!!!

Jessica went all out last week and styled up three of my favorite pieces.. and now it is my turn to show off her favorites.

The first amazing piece was a vintage sequins cropped tank. I, of course, was in love with it and took the challenge to wear it on a day full of meetings and appointments. The challenge being to pull off sequins during the day and make it work appropriate.

Want to see how the glamorous Jessica wore this little number, check it out here!

 

33 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2011 6:10 am

    You look great!! I really love this look.

    http://projecttrophywife.blogspot.com

  2. January 18, 2011 6:20 am

    Love the bag and the jacket! The 2 pic is really nice with the sun!

    http://www.LIVINGandFASHION.blogspot.com

  3. January 18, 2011 6:37 am

    Love love love this look, but then, no lie – I am wearing almost the same outfit today on my own blog. However, I’m kind of kicking myself for not thinking to put my vintage beaded shell over my tee. Check it out if you are so inclined…

    http://merciblahblah.blogspot.com

    Merci!
    Shannan

  4. January 18, 2011 6:37 am

    Love the way you played with the lengths, great idea for a crop top. I also find those pants to be amazing, they really look out of this world.

  5. January 18, 2011 6:48 am

    Omg so gorgeous. Is it possible for sequins to look better during the day than at night? So unexpected.

    • January 18, 2011 8:26 am

      Thanks Christina! I think sequins are so fun to mix into day time, it is all about pairing it with unexpected items to dress it down and make it work.

  6. January 18, 2011 7:16 am

    I’m really enjoying seeing you two style stars do this swap! It’s super fun to observe and see your own twists on each other’s items. This is a great sparkler of a shirt, and I love it with the black jacket and rolled/ankle-high pants!

  7. January 18, 2011 7:20 am

    Beth- this looks so modern! I’ve always seen this top as a very vintage/cocktail kind of item, but you’ve changed my mind. I’m definitely copying this look!

    • January 18, 2011 8:25 am

      Thanks so much… of course very flattered that you like it.. your precious vintage.

  8. Ambyr permalink
    January 18, 2011 8:11 am

    love love love this look!

  9. January 18, 2011 9:19 am

    I just love sequins!

  10. January 18, 2011 9:22 am

    really like this look, the bag and shirt are great!

    Murval

  11. January 18, 2011 9:42 am

    this is a great way to wear sequins during the day.
    this look is really pretty

  12. January 18, 2011 10:34 am

    I’m new to your blog, thanks to Jemina… have to say I love this outfit. The rolled-up pants and booties is a look I’ve got to try. – Katy

  13. January 18, 2011 11:06 am

    that bag is so cute. love this look

    http://myheadandwardrobe.blogspot.com/

  14. January 18, 2011 11:18 am

    Love your blog, and am following on twitter!! Also, just bought the stylit! Can’t wait to receive it. So excited!!

    p.s. where are your sunglasses from? I need to have them!! 🙂

    xoxo,
    melrod

    • January 18, 2011 2:37 pm

      Oh.. so glad you ordered a STYLIT.. it will be on its way soon!

    • January 18, 2011 2:39 pm

      Wish I could recommend where to buy the sunnies. Unfortunately, I found them at a thrift store.. I think they are from the 80’s.

  15. January 18, 2011 1:14 pm

    Love it! And could you look any cooler in those pants?!

  16. January 18, 2011 1:29 pm

    love ANYTHING that sparkles.

    http://a-la-mode-kt.blogspot.com/

  17. January 18, 2011 2:03 pm

    Luv the sunnies, and great job pulling off the sequins during the day!🙂
    ~Giselle
    http://www.machinewashwarm.blogspot.com

  18. January 18, 2011 3:02 pm

    And also this one is a perfect outfit! You rock everything! xx

  19. January 18, 2011 7:03 pm

    I love this mix! I love the little sparkle! Amazing.

  20. January 18, 2011 10:22 pm

    This outfit is perfection from head to toe! I love the sequin tank paired with more casual pants. I really (really) love that bag! Great look!

  21. January 19, 2011 5:33 am

    I like the whole swapping concept bloggers are starting out! Lovely outfit, cute how you managed to tone down the sparkle. I also reallly like these sunglasses on you, they were made for you!
    xx

    Emy

    http://sweetpromises.tumblr.com/

  22. January 19, 2011 9:48 am

    this is one of my all time favorite outfits of yours!

  23. January 19, 2011 10:34 am

    What a perfect blend of the classic + modern. One of my favorite looks of yours yet!

    xo

  24. January 19, 2011 10:43 am

    I could see myself in this for sure. i love that it is chic but casual and sparkly ^_^ shoes are fab. bag really caught my eye!

  25. greengirlgret permalink
    January 20, 2011 6:59 am

    I love this!! That bag is amazing, too!!

  26. January 20, 2011 7:54 am

    Wow, you guys are both so lucky to be borrowing clothes from each other! I love both of you ladies. Those shoes and that sequin tank are AMAZING.

  27. January 20, 2011 9:11 am

    Love this look! The bracelets and the top and the sunglasses just pull it all together…great shots!
    xo Cara
    http://www.afashionloveaffair.com/

  28. January 24, 2011 8:41 am

    love this ensemble, especially the fierce jacket and retro purse.
    just found your blog recently and loving it…:)

    Regina
    http://www.KakaYard.com

  29. January 24, 2011 11:24 am

    Love the bag!!

Leave a Reply

