Skip to content

Swapping Stripes

January 19, 2011






(Coat – On Loan from Jessica, Top – QSW, Pants – Thrifted, Bracelet – Forever 21, Pumps – Cynthia Rowley via TJMaxx)

I apologize to everyone experiencing freezing temps and continuous snow fall.. it is gloriously warm here and the sun just won’t stop shining. I know.. ridiculous.. but it has me gleefully jumping into spring mode.

With this in mind, I continue my swap with Jessica from What I Wore!

Jessica sent along this coat with graphic stripe detailing, and instantly it had me playing with the idea of color blocking. So, I pulled out everything with a little red, dressed it up and accented it with the coat and black pumps.

Now check out how Jessica wears it!

 

 

31 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2011 6:29 am

    Love this look honey, fabulous! I like how you both styled the coat but yours with the red pants is my fav. Enjoy the sunshine and have a great week. axx

  2. chichichic! permalink
    January 19, 2011 6:35 am

    fantastic coat and pants! such lovely weather you have too!

  3. January 19, 2011 7:08 am

    Ahhh! Beth!! I love this! Ultimate color blocking! Well done!

    • January 19, 2011 8:06 am

      Thanks Jessica.. and of course.. thanks for letting me borrow the coat!

  4. January 19, 2011 7:25 am

    Looovee this outfit!! That jacket is gorgeous but you styled it up perfectly!! I don´t know if you´ll take it as a compliment but sometimes you really remind me of Carrie Bradshaw (style)
    xx
    Emy

    http://sweetpromises.tumblr.com/

  5. January 19, 2011 7:26 am

    Such a cute jacket…it may be hard to give it back!

  6. January 19, 2011 7:38 am

    This is why you are a friend in my head! I love how you worked the coat with RED!

    (Btw…I just realized you were once “The Vintage Society.” I used to check that blog for updates and then I gave up:( I am so glad B. Jones Style exists!)

    And not for nothing, I used your army chic look as inspiration on my latest post:) I hope I made you proud!

  7. January 19, 2011 7:46 am

    This is great! Ah, I’m ACTUALLY sitting here in a pink blouse and red skirt after being reminded by Jessica of your color blocking (that I fell hard for) way back in November – pink trousers, red blouse and orange blazer!

    Inspiration central between the two of you!

  8. January 19, 2011 8:44 am

    Loooove that coat, and it looks incredible with the red-on-red. Perfect.

  9. January 19, 2011 9:36 am

    The jewelry is absolutely beautiful and I really like the black white and red combo here

  10. January 19, 2011 10:24 am

    Babe….you are rockin’ this coat!!!! WE LOVE LOVE LOVE striped coats and this one is a WINNER! And that pink and red combo…we’re droolin’ over it!! Those look like Gucci pants! And those palm trees blowin’ in the background are sooo gorgeous compared to all the cracked out crazy snow we have in Toronto..ahhhhhh!!!
    kisses
    xoThe Beckerman Girls

    http://www.BeckermanBitePlate.com

  11. hayley permalink
    January 19, 2011 10:30 am

    I love this! The red just kills me.
    Also, you should do I makeup tutorial. Your makeup is always flawless!

  12. January 19, 2011 10:41 am

    it has taken me quite a while to really embrace the lip stick red shade that is very popular in blogs and fashion, but I love how you have used it here and i think it’s starting to grow on me ^_^

  13. January 19, 2011 11:11 am

    Coat is really fantastic, what an eye catching piece. Love the thrifted finds🙂 Great colors for spring.
    ~Giselle
    http://www.machinewashwarm.blogspot.com

  14. January 19, 2011 11:31 am

    loving those red pants! they look great on you🙂

  15. January 19, 2011 11:48 am

    The details are just amazing and beautiful!

  16. January 19, 2011 12:33 pm

    You look so chic. I looooove your style and it’s such an inspiration.

  17. January 19, 2011 2:00 pm

    Bold colors and bold prints and the right attitude! I really love the whole outfit! There so much power in the first photo!

  18. January 19, 2011 2:38 pm

    Love these cropped pants! SO bright! Id wear these EVERYDAY!!

    ash
    countrygirlcityworld.com

  19. January 19, 2011 3:25 pm

    This outfit is just stunning!! Red looks really good on you, and you pull off the perfect red lips!

    You have such a talent for finding and mixing vintage, new, and borrowed.

    http://laurenlovestoshare.blogspot.com/

  20. January 19, 2011 5:44 pm

    This entire post is perfection….black and white stripes, perfectly tailored red pants, a subtly dotted top. Ugh I am dying over this….swoon!

    ~Kirsten
    http://triplemaxtons.blogspot.com

  21. January 19, 2011 6:24 pm

    Love your outfit, those pants are great!

    This is such a great idea! we can trade any day!

    Also thanks for the support through this frigid time!

    Julie

    http://www.hiddenjems.blogspot.com

  22. January 19, 2011 8:18 pm

    Love that coat and those pumps are so cute! Loving the pink and red as well.

    xx Melina

    .but i like it.

  23. January 19, 2011 9:13 pm

    gorgeous colour!

  24. January 20, 2011 12:20 am

    I love how you wear bright colours!

    xx
    M.

  25. January 20, 2011 2:58 am

    Love it! And what a fun idea to swap!

    I’m having my first giveaway, be sure to check out my blog! :o)

    -Samantha

    http://thisfashionista.blogspot.com

  26. January 20, 2011 3:03 pm

    Such a fabulous coat! I love how you styled it with those adorable cropped trousers. That red is spectacular

    i just noticed your wedding ring, i have the same one with a queen cut diamond. isn’t it the prettiest ring?! i always get compliments on it. i can’t figure out what kind of band I want to get made to go with it, or if i should just leave it as is. it’s great on its own…

  27. January 24, 2011 11:41 am

    I’m in love with this outfit!!! Everything just looks so well put together🙂

  28. February 6, 2011 5:51 pm

    I love this look! I hope you don’t mind, but I just featured this look on a post on my blog. You can check it out here:

    http://missinfluenced.blogspot.com/2011/02/weekly-favorites-stripes.html

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Swapping Stripes « B. Jones Style -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

