Skip to content

Inspirations and Elations

January 24, 2011
tags:




This week’s inspirations and elations:

SATC LOVE!!! It’s been there done that, been blogged about, been talked about… but I’m bringing it back.

Old episodes have re-surfaced on the tube and are being stored in my DVR… which means if there is a spare 25 minutes in my day.. I take the plunge and dive back in to Carrie’s world.

Honestly, SATC was a huge reason I became more creative with my wardrobe.. it started my love for vintage and thrift shopping and ignited my eclectic tastes. Good memories!

With this resurgence, I have decided to spend the rest of the week being inspired by the fabulous Carrie Bradshaw. Every day this week I will be choosing a classic Carrie look and doing my best to re-create it for now and for me.

So.. bring on the week.

43 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2011 1:11 pm

    I’m going vintage shopping tomorrow in Stockholm and I will keep Carrie and the girls in mind… ordered my second Carrie necklace today and this one is gold🙂 Am a huge fan of your blog, all the way from London via Stockholm…

  2. January 24, 2011 1:12 pm

    How fun! I really hope you attempt the look on the second to last row, with the rainbow skirt and bright red jacket. Kinda reminds me of the bright stripes in Kate Spade’s new ad campaign, yeah?

  3. January 24, 2011 1:17 pm

    This will obviously be one amazing week. I can’t wait to see the looks!

  4. January 24, 2011 1:18 pm

    I have been watching a lot of old SATC too since they just started playing them on E! I’m excited to see your Carrie-inspired looks! Her style definitely reminds me of you! I think I’m more of a Charlotte, but I love them all.🙂

  5. January 24, 2011 1:33 pm

    Oh!! I love every picture!!!

    http://WWW.RENEBRAUN.COM

    You are welcome to visit my blog too:)) Kisses!

  6. January 24, 2011 1:49 pm

    I love it!! Good to know you must’ve liked my compliment the other day. Cannot wait to see you channel your inner Carrie!! I can never get enough of SATC! It’s going to be great:)
    xx
    Emy

    http://sweetpromises.tumblr.com/

  7. January 24, 2011 1:51 pm

    i love that you are doing this! i DVR them too…they never, ever get old! it’s like Patricia Field can pop into your house with a creative outfit everyday🙂

  8. January 24, 2011 1:57 pm

    I’ve been watching the old episodes on E and still love it just as much as I did then. I love how Carrie took chances with her outfits. I think you have the same spirit style-wise and I can’t wait to see what you come up with this week.🙂
    Very excited!!!

  9. January 24, 2011 1:57 pm

    My favorite is that striped skirt and red coat. Love!

  10. January 24, 2011 1:59 pm

    Fun! Can’t wait to see which ones you revive!

  11. eat.sleep.wear. permalink
    January 24, 2011 1:59 pm

    I absolutely ADORE This. LOVE LOVE LOVE seeing all these photos in one condensed place. I am going to have to take a cue from you and do a little carrie tribute. I have a crazy layered pearl necklace that makes me think of the last photo in the first row. BOOM! IT’s happening.

    xo, Kim http://www.eatsleepwear.com

  12. chichichic! permalink
    January 24, 2011 2:04 pm

    yup yup yup and yup. Love “vintage” SATC.

  13. January 24, 2011 2:39 pm

    I too have been loving the vintage SATCs being back on TV. The return of the big flower was definitely on my style additions list this week. Looking forward to your outfits! xo

  14. January 24, 2011 3:21 pm

    YAY! So excited to see your creations! LOVE Carrie’s style!

    xx
    Jen

    http://belledecouture.com

  15. January 24, 2011 3:34 pm

    Oooooooh, fun! I’ll be brutally honest, I HATE the show. But! Carrie’s look was always awesome. Sometimes I’d watch it just to see what she was wearing. I feel like so much of that off-kilter ladylike style is coming back into this season’s shows…but really, its a timeless look. Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  16. January 24, 2011 3:37 pm

    As an avid SATC and Carrie Bradshaw fan (I watch my DVDs every night!), I am so excited to see all your fabulous outfits this week! I so admire your style and knack for all things fashionable and look forward to your blog posts every day! P.S. Loving my STYLIT!

  17. Cassandra permalink
    January 24, 2011 3:44 pm

    Love this! I can’t wait to see what you come up with. I cannot get enough Carrie!

  18. January 24, 2011 5:28 pm

    YES! I am in love with Carrie. I have all the seasons and have been re-watching them all in the past two weeks. I can’t get enough of Carrie’s looks. She’s kooky but I can’t help but love it.

    The questions I ask myself is: Do I have the guts to try her looks?

    Cannot wait to see what you come up with!!!

    XO,
    Erika

  19. January 24, 2011 6:37 pm

    when i was a wee bit younger (ahem, in my twenties) i was all about carrie bradshaw’s whimsical wardrobe (patterns on patterns and colors clashing in only the best and most stylish of ways) and have noticed as of late that my closet has sorely been lacking some carrieness. can’t wait to see what you come up with in the week and have no problem telling you i will most likely be trying to copycat (err, recreate) your post bradshaw ensembles too.

    bex.

    • January 24, 2011 7:17 pm

      Being a “non-twenties” girl I say go for it.. embrace the quirky Carrie inside of you!!

  20. Lia Morastoni permalink
    January 24, 2011 6:42 pm

    Que sapatos mais lindos! Amei!

  21. January 24, 2011 6:48 pm

    I’m totally in love with this woman both as Carrie and Sarah! Excited to see your creations!

    Whitney
    http://www.MyStylishFriends.blogspot.com

  22. January 24, 2011 7:10 pm

    Oh what a lovely idea to kick off the week! I don’t care how ‘done’ it’s been, SATC will always be inspiring and fun. Gahh, I soo love her look when she first arrived in Paris!!

    xx Melina

    .but i like it.

  23. January 24, 2011 7:24 pm

    I LOVE Sex and the City! I’m so happy that E! is showing all SATC episodes weekday nights now. (Although I do have very little time to watch them… thank goodness for TiVo!)

  24. January 24, 2011 7:28 pm

    Pat Field is a genius….love love love carrie!

    jen
    http://blankwhiteframes.blogspot.com

  25. January 24, 2011 7:36 pm

    OMG so stoked for this!

  26. January 24, 2011 9:29 pm

    she’s amazing. can’t believe satc2 got nominated for the razzies!

    if you like vintage clothing as much as i think you do please come and check out our amazing website! I think you might die!!

    http://www.lalalandvintageclothing.com
    http://www.avintagelovestory.com

    xx

    • January 24, 2011 10:10 pm

      Thanks for letting me know about your vintage shop! Gorgeous clothes!

  27. January 24, 2011 10:05 pm

    Yes! It’s showing on E! now and I always get sucked in. Love that show and even so long after it’s been off the air, my friends and I always find ourselves saying “It’s like that one SATC episode, blah blah blah” (seriously…how did they hit the nail on the head so.many.times!?)

    Anyway, I love Carrie posts and seeing what everyone’s favorite Carrie outfits are. We all have a certain few we keep going back to, have bookmarked or printed out.

    Also, sometimes, if I’ve got something a little crazy on and I’m worried about walking out the door, I’ll give myself a little “Carrie wouldn’t think twice about going out there and rocking these sequin leggings” and it gives me that little bit of extra confidence I need to waltz right out the door!! Thanks for the awesome post!

  28. January 24, 2011 10:23 pm

    Oooooh. I can’t wait to see SATC style re-created. Carrie Bradshaw is the ultimate.

  29. January 24, 2011 10:44 pm

    Really looking forward to all you come up with! Carrie is such a style force, and so is Sarah Jessica Parker, for that matter. I love how this show made fashion so fun and carefree, each woman with her own approach to style. With Carrie, her outfits were so all-over-the-board that maybe the only fitting description of her style is “anything goes.” Should be a fun week for you!

    Question: will you be rocking Carrie hair as well?

  30. January 24, 2011 10:54 pm

    I’m excited for this!

  31. January 25, 2011 12:22 am

    Ah the good “old” Carrie Bradshaw!!! Isn’t it amazing that even after so many years her looks still look current and up to date???
    By the way I posted about you on my blog today! Would mean a lot if you would come by to say hi!😀 Beso!
    xxx

    http://gypsy-diaries.blogspot.com/

  32. January 25, 2011 12:46 am

    I think you are PERFECT for the SATC/Carrie Style.

  33. January 25, 2011 7:14 am

    I agree while it’s been done and regurgitated in more ways than one, I still can not get enough. She’s the reason I bun up my hair and get more creative with my wardrobe too. Plus-I find myself falling more in love with her and her style when I watch old episodes. Despite that some of them aired over 10 years go, it feels like they are just as relevant and inspiring today as they were then.

  34. January 25, 2011 9:45 am

    LOVE this idea! Every girl can be inspired by Carrie Bradshaw’s cool, gutsy, eclectic style. Can’t wait to see your interpretations!

  35. January 25, 2011 10:35 am

    This is going to be a fun week for us readers! I love SATC, and I hadn’t watched it for a couple of years. Then, boom: E! reignited my love the last few weeks when they started showing episodes. It’s been so fun to hang out again with Carrie & the girls. (And try to forget the disaster that was the ‘plot’ of SATC Movie 2. )

  36. cutandsew permalink
    January 25, 2011 11:38 am

    I’m so glad someone loves SJP and much as I do!!

  37. January 25, 2011 5:26 pm

    Just found your blog and in love I am!! Girl after my Carrie B heart…so inspired for the week. Can’t wait for tomorrow!

    Michelle

    MichelleSalimStyle.blogspot.com

  38. January 26, 2011 11:45 am

    I’m in complete agreement with you. Carrie Bradshaw’s style never gets boring (and thanks E! for resurrecting the old episodes!).

  39. February 13, 2011 7:43 am

    oh my god this is such an amazing idea! i went through all the outfits and you’re really nailed all the themes! x

Trackbacks

  1. Smaggle Style » Blog Archive » Lovely Links

Leave a Reply

