Skip to content

That Girl’s Packing Heat

February 7, 2011

It’s Monday and as you read this.. I’m on a plane headed to New York for some fun in the city – the Lucky FABB Conference, a few meetings and loads of socializing with fabulous fashion bloggers.

To kick off this whirlwind trip, I thought I would share how and what I pack.. so join me and my freakish-organized-nature.. and take a trip.. starting at the very beginning.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Before the planning begins, I make sure I have all the right clothing at my finger tips.. and thanks to Crossroads Trading Co…. I had a whole lot of new choices to inspire creative and winter-friendly looks.

Seriously, I needed some fresh items to get me going and after three stops at Crossroads… I was good to go.

The planning could commence!

First things first, I plan out my looks using  STYLIT – I jot down ideas for each day head to toe.

Then the outfits get laid out and organized with every piece included… shoes, hats, jewelry.. everything. One by one they fill my rug and I tweak until I love each and every one of them.





At last, the looks are complete and I do a once over… making sure I haven’t missed anything.

The clothes are folded neatly and then placed in my suitcase by outfit (excluding shoes.. those go on top).

A few final necessities are thrown in the bag.. after mishaps and mistakes in the past I have learned to always be prepared…a lint roller, scissors and safety pins keep me feeling ready to weather any storm.

Of course, no trip would be complete without my travel buddies: Lucky Mags and my latest page turner.

So there you have it.. my nut-so packing regime.

Soon, I will safely land.. get smacked in the face with a real winter and have stories galore to share.. stay tuned!

32 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2011 6:15 am

    Have fun at the conference🙂 Would love to go to that! The stylelit notebook is such a cool idea x

  2. February 7, 2011 6:19 am

    wow your so organised ! you wont have a problem though because you have packed some really lovely outfits . I love the second outfit its amazing

    http://myheadandwardrobe.blogspot.com/

  3. February 7, 2011 7:15 am

    Looks like a really smart packing routine to me! I wish I had that ability to visualize outfits before I wear them. Can’t wait to see them all on!

    • Ali permalink
      February 7, 2011 2:00 pm

      You can. Take pictures of you in your outfits. That’s a great tip that I’ve learned here🙂

  4. February 7, 2011 7:20 am

    i do this too. and because i do my hubby and i have arguments over my HUGE suitcase and how much it weighs… =) oh, well. must suffer for fashion. (he must.)

    have so much fun. love nyc so much!!!!

  5. Kelly permalink
    February 7, 2011 7:21 am

    Hi!!! Love reading your site every morning when I get to work!! But saw your great stylit and went to buy one and it appears to be sold out..when will you be getting more?? Thanks so much!

  6. February 7, 2011 7:23 am

    I love how you pull out the outfits and piece them together visually. My method of packing has been to create a spreadsheet, determine what the weather will be and what activities are planned and then put together an outfit around those things.

    I hope you have a ton of fun at the Lucky conference. I so wish I could be there too.

  7. February 7, 2011 8:09 am

    packing is such an art + looks like you do it very well. by the way, you will love that book and the other two that follow! have fun at the conference!

  8. February 7, 2011 8:14 am

    Smart packing strategy!

  9. eat.sleep.wear. permalink
    February 7, 2011 8:48 am

    i totally pack this way. And it’s amazing when you unpack your bag that your outfit is there, with EVERYTHING to boot. CANT WAIT TO SEE YOU GIRL!! xo, Kim http://www.eatsleepwear.com

  10. February 7, 2011 8:59 am

    really great tips! so organized, when i pack i always leave something behind, or bring extra things that i wind up not using. i will definitely take notes from this for the next time.

    Girl Meets Handbag

  11. February 7, 2011 9:15 am

    You’re so organized! Very inspirational, as always. Have fun in NYC!

  12. February 7, 2011 10:40 am

    Can’t wait to see all these lovely outfits. Great book as well!
    ~Giselle
    http://www.machinewashwarm.blogspot.com

  13. February 7, 2011 11:20 am

    just discovered your blog via your etsy page and am loving it. i also NEED to get my hands on a stylit! such an amazing idea for all of us who like to plan out our outfits/lack organization😉

    enjoy the lucky conference, it sounded like an amazing line up & you’re sure to look stylish!

    xoxo

  14. February 7, 2011 1:05 pm

    So organized and smart! Are you still selling the Stylits? I definitely need one of those! I think it would me envision outfits better.

    http://www.mintypeaches.blogspot.com

  15. February 7, 2011 2:03 pm

    i feel like i should do this every Monday even if I’m not going anywhere. So organized. i’m jealous of your suitcase- those ensembles are fabulous!

  16. February 7, 2011 2:18 pm

    I love seeing your lint roller and LUCKY mags! Fashion bloggers think alike😉

  17. February 7, 2011 4:22 pm

    I envy your organization skills! Have fun in NYC, enjoy our New England weather haha.

  18. February 7, 2011 5:15 pm

    i love the packing concept…complete looks complete with jewelry. I need to start approaching my packing this way.

  19. February 7, 2011 5:35 pm

    What an awesome way to pack…for so much planning, your looks are so seamless and effortless. So great!

  20. February 7, 2011 6:07 pm

    I adore your blog!
    I’m definitely subscribing.
    Check out mine🙂
    http://thegothictwist.blogspot.com/

  21. Liz permalink
    February 7, 2011 10:24 pm

    I love your blog and your super organized way of packing! Will you be selling any more Stylit Planners?
    Thx
    Liz

  22. February 8, 2011 12:17 am

    Oh it looks really intruiging… cannot wait to see these on you!😀
    xxx

    http://gypsy-diaries.blogspot.com/

    P.S: I’m having a $100 designer dress giveaway! I bet you’d love it!😉

  23. Amber L permalink
    February 8, 2011 3:37 am

    Great Post. By the way, watch out…those books are addictive! I am on the last one in the series.

  24. February 8, 2011 8:34 am

    I love all the boots! Have a great trip.

    http://www.thewrittenrunway.com

  25. February 8, 2011 8:56 am

    Wow, i am impressed. I just got my StyleIt and I’m hoping it can make me much more organized.

  26. February 8, 2011 2:23 pm

    i just finished the dragon tattoo series. Definitely one of the best books i’ve ever read! the first one was the best though! enjoy the read because it certainly ends too quickly!

  27. February 8, 2011 5:17 pm

    I love seeing all the individual pieces and how you make the come together flawlessly….you’re an artist!

    ~Kirsten
    http://www.triplemaxtons.com

  28. Whatever's cool with me permalink
    February 8, 2011 7:54 pm

    Wow. You make it so easy!

    This is the only way I’ll ever pack, from now on.

    Thanks!
    Georgia

  29. February 8, 2011 8:24 pm

    You picked a great book. You’re not going to want to put it down! I hope you have a fabulous time in NYC with all the other bloggers.

  30. February 13, 2011 7:39 am

    wow, method packing! ive never thought of trying to organize my suitcase like that, looks interesting, i’ll have to attempt it on my next trip! x

Leave a Reply

