Skip to content

True Grit

February 11, 2011



(Hat – Urban Outfitters, Coat – Opening Ceremony, Cardigan – QSW, Vest – Crossroads Find, Denim Shirt – Thrifted, Scarf – Vintage, Pants – Silence & Noise via Crossroads, Boots – Jessica Simpson)

Today was the coldest.. cold-to-the-bone coldest.. and this meant layers on layers on layers.

While “prep-shopping” for my trip to New York, I discovered this vintage brown leather vest at Crossroads.. suddenly images of the movie “True Grit” popped in my mind.. and I knew I wanted to create a look inspired by good ‘ole western movies.

Ye-Haw!

Follow me on Twitter and Bloglovin

31 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2011 6:16 am

    looking great. love that outfit!

    happy weekend dear
    xx

  2. February 11, 2011 6:51 am

    love the opening ceremony coat. gorgeous.

    http://www.fashionablecollections.blogspot.com

  3. February 11, 2011 7:08 am

    You are the champion of layering! I love this!

    xo L

  4. February 11, 2011 7:28 am

    I love vests, they give such a twist to an outfit. The boots are amazing!

  5. February 11, 2011 7:56 am

    what a gorgeous city/outdoor look. There is so much going on because of the layers, this can be very tricky but it works so well on you. The combination of the different pieces is so exuberating; I love your boots: it makes it city chique. The texture and the cut of the pants looks fabulous. I adore a camel coat, you can never go wrong with that color. It makes it all so ‘hunting season classy’.

  6. February 11, 2011 8:01 am

    Love this Beth! Hhaha, you look a tad cold in the first photo! Must be such a shock after being in Southern California. Absolutely adore your use of layering though! You look fab. xx

  7. February 11, 2011 8:10 am

    Love the boots. You have such a great collection of browns, I need to expand out of my comfort zone of blacks and greys! Hope you’re having fun in the big apple.

    http://www.thewrittenrunway.com

  8. Carole permalink
    February 11, 2011 8:53 am

    I cannot tell you how much I LOVE this entire outfit. The hat, the vest, the coat, the sweater, the boots – everything about it is awesome and just so you your style. I would love a leather vest. You are totally rocking this entire look!

  9. February 11, 2011 8:58 am

    Love this outfit, love the post title, and I LOVE your coat! Gorgeous! Have a happy weekend!🙂

  10. February 11, 2011 9:00 am

    you look amazing! loving the fingerless gloves, your braid + hat combo, all the layers, and those boots. are they comfy?

  11. February 11, 2011 9:14 am

    That coat is gorgeous!!

    http://www.glamlatte.com

  12. February 11, 2011 2:27 pm

    amazing look! the boots are great, I see more and more ladies wearing shoes by JS – just ordered a pair myself!

  13. February 11, 2011 2:27 pm

    love the coat..
    you have great clothes and wear them really well..shall be adding you to my bloglist🙂

    http://www.lollihearts.co.uk
    x

  14. February 11, 2011 2:40 pm

    do you ever get tired of being gorgeous?🙂

  15. February 11, 2011 4:35 pm

    i love this look from head to toe!

  16. February 11, 2011 5:02 pm

    OUTFIT ENVY! The first time I saw these photos, WARM & COZY are the first words that came to mind. Love it!🙂 I’ve seen the old movie TRUE GRIT like twice and love it. I like the girl in the old movie (Kim Darby) and I love her clothes. LOL! Love, love, love your outfit as well.🙂 GORGEOUS!!!

  17. February 11, 2011 7:16 pm

    So many layers! This look is amazing! Hope you’re keeping warm.

    http://www.mintypeaches.blogspot.com

  18. February 11, 2011 9:52 pm

    LOVING this!!

  19. February 12, 2011 6:03 am

    That coat is fabulous! So dramatic.

  20. February 12, 2011 11:05 am

    great style!

  21. February 12, 2011 11:18 am

    Great outfit. Women need to wear hats more — divine!

  22. February 12, 2011 1:12 pm

    all the layers are amazing!!

    http://aforteforfashion.blogspot.com

  23. February 13, 2011 3:04 am

    Hi Beth,
    just wanted you to know that you’re a huge inspiration of mine stylewise and I left an award for you in my blog. I’d be honoured if you picked it up.

    Thanks!

  24. February 13, 2011 3:53 am

    Great jacket, perfect layering! Stuning outfit xx

  25. February 13, 2011 7:57 am

    this is so great–the layers and proportions are spot on. xoxo, laura

  26. February 13, 2011 8:10 am

    Now you understand …”new jerseyian” over here does numerous layering posts…there is NO other way to exist fashionably in this weather.
    Loving that leather vest…maybe show us another fit with the vest…I would love to see more of it:)
    C

  27. February 13, 2011 4:06 pm

    loved the boots and the coat is fabolous!
    congrats on an awesome blog!

  28. February 14, 2011 9:26 am

    That coat, hat, boot combo! I love!!!!!!!!!! Love your style

  29. February 14, 2011 9:40 am

    Love how your layers look and those boots…so fly

    http://foodfashionandflow.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

