Skip to content

Thrifty Girl

February 23, 2011




(Everything Thrifted)

Recently, I was chatting with a friend.. and she said.. “The one thing I don’t like about your blog.. is that I can’t go buy all the things you wear because you have so many thrifted pieces. Can I just go thrifting with you?” I’m sorry.. I know.. I wish I could take everyone thrifting with me!

I happen to love the adventure of digging, and this love turned into an addiction which often results in some pretty unique finds. I know there are already some savvy thrifters out there… but for the ones who aren’t in thrift mode.. it isn’t magic.. it just takes some endurance, willpower and vision.

And.. if you don’t want to thrift.. start looking at vintage.. or at least small boutiques that carry unusual pieces. Collect your treasures and then, when dressing you will have interesting choices to add to an everyday look.

Such is the case with today’s look, I started with the maxi skirt and boots, and then I noticed my sweater-vest-coat.. and thought it would be fantastic to layer it into my look. The sweater-vest-coat was one of those thrift finds and without it I don’t think I would have been inspired to finish off the look with a belt, blazer and hat.

Start collecting!

28 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2011 6:04 am

    Your skin and hair look amazing in these photos!

    • February 23, 2011 9:19 am

      It’s the Dior Forever Foundation.. I’m serious. I love this makeup.

  2. jessica permalink
    February 23, 2011 6:20 am

    i agree with your friend. i’m jealous of all your thrifting opportunities and finds! i love those boots… every time you wear them i feel a twinge of envy. great outfit. :]

  3. February 23, 2011 6:40 am

    I too love that sweater-vest-coat thingy that you thrift-ted. I am hoping I could find something like that next time I go thrift shopping. You always look amazing!

  4. February 23, 2011 6:41 am

    I have never bought vintage or thrifted (besides T-shirts), but you are really making me want to start. The pieces are just so special. I adore this outfit so much, B!

  5. February 23, 2011 7:34 am

    gah! I’m totally addicted too! lol! I sometimes get to the point that if I walk into a regular store setting I get confused b/c there’s a row of blouses…all the same….just grab your size… it feels awkward now and I’m never as excited by it! lol!🙂

  6. February 23, 2011 7:35 am

    Girl you are the QUEEN of the thrifting😉 I admire your mixing. I love the treasure hunt as well! Nothing beats it.

  7. February 23, 2011 8:00 am

    i love your thrifting inspiration! i’ve recently found myself obsessed with it and have so much more fun searching for one of a kind pieces in thrift stores than in a boring mall.
    XXO

  8. February 23, 2011 8:12 am

    You look amazing. You can tell you are so comfortable in these clothes which is part of the secret. A lot of people are afraid to wear Thrifted clothes, me, I love it!
    Thanks for sharing these wonderful pictures.

    xo L.

  9. February 23, 2011 8:19 am

    I don’t care what it is, it looks fabulous on you. this is what you do best: layers: the different textures, colors, patterns are so exuberating. How can you match up so many things and still look fabulous. The blue and the bourbon are fantastic. I love the combination of the different lengths. The boots and the hat are the finishing touch and make it a little bit more country like.

  10. February 23, 2011 8:35 am

    this last photo of u is one of my favsss. That sultry look at the camera. LOL. LOVE all these layers and your so right, being able to find those pieces is so rewarding and makes things that much more special. xo, Kim http://www.eatsleepwear.com

  11. February 23, 2011 9:33 am

    LOVE the boots!

  12. February 23, 2011 9:38 am

    There’s also aspect of luck when thrifting😉 Of course, it takes “endurance, willpower and vision” quoting you but there’s a lot, a lot of luck! OK, at least for me :)))

  13. April permalink
    February 23, 2011 9:46 am

    I totally agree with you, Beth! Thrifting is a blast! There’s something so rewarding about going on the hunt looking for pieces that fit your style and adding to your clothing collection. I also love going to garage sales of the older ladies during the summer…they have the best costume jewelry!

  14. February 23, 2011 10:01 am

    I never would have thought to layer as you did. Don’t think it would look good on me, but superior! I really love this look. How or why did you get into thrifting? I myself have recently discovered how fun it is! And agree endurance and vision a must.

    • February 23, 2011 10:04 am

      It always seemed like a fun idea and it became a big addiction when I moved to California which had more thrift stores than I could imagine. I grew up on a small little island that only had one, but since then thrift stores have popped up everywhere and I love to do it in any town in america.

  15. February 23, 2011 10:08 am

    I’m definitely envious of your thrifting skills! This outfit is another great example, and I LOVE your hair in this picture! Gorgeous waves!

  16. February 23, 2011 10:26 am

    I agree, thrifting is definitely not for the shopper who is looking instant gratification. Finding a unique piece does take time and effort to seek out. But the satisfaction you get when you find something you love is priceless!

    http://www.mintypeaches.blogspot.com

  17. February 23, 2011 10:43 am

    OMG yes there’s nothing more I enjoy than bargains, thrift stores and hand me downs! Lol!! It’s the best. I need to visit the Crossroads in OC soon. Never been to that location.

    xoxo,
    melrod

  18. February 23, 2011 10:47 am

    Thought you might enjoy this- on a recent trip to a Salvation army in Santa Monica, they had this sign posted on the wall (which I have a great picture of on my blog btw🙂 ):

    definition:
    thrift n. to prosper, the condition of thriving, careful management of one’s money.

    so i guess cleanliness is close to godliness and thriftiness is even closer? LOL
    xo

  19. February 23, 2011 11:18 am

    I’ve only recently dipped my toes into the world of thrifting. It’s harder than it looks!! I try to go to the Crossroads near my home, the Salvation Army and Goodwill where I see a lot of people get great stuff, and eBay too, and I just get so overwhelmed by the sheer amount of *stuff* to sift though!

    I’m addicted to bargain/sale shopping in the mall, and thrifting shouldn’t seem much different, but I feel sort of inept at it, haha. But I’ve heard from others as well, it takes perseverance!!

  20. February 23, 2011 12:43 pm

    Thanks for the suggestions on thrifting, I’m the worst. I feel like I never find anything, but I’m excited to try new shops.
    The sweater vest and jacket fabrics look awesome together.

    http://www.thewrittenrunway.com

  21. February 23, 2011 1:05 pm

    Love what you’ve layered! I would have never thought of that – cleaver! I hear you on the thrifting… it’s so hard though and time consuming, you’ve inspired me to get better about that!

  22. February 23, 2011 1:46 pm

    Amazing layering here! Love all the texture, love the color. I must say that I’ve just tried my hand again at thrifting and I do find it exhilarating! The things one can find, sometimes I can’t believe someone would give it up! Love your boots and again, love your blog! Visit me at:

    http://www.plentyforpennies.com

  23. k.c. permalink
    February 23, 2011 3:57 pm

    consistently in love w/your photos! i’m an avid thrifter too, but never attain your level of amazingness. you are, as always, my favorite blogger.

  24. Giselle permalink
    February 23, 2011 5:26 pm

    I agree with your friend; but then again, the main reason why I love your style so much and feel inspired by it it’s mainly because I won’t see 20 girls in the street or other blogs wearing the same exact piece of clothing. So keep it up girl, you are an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

