Skip to content

B. Styled Shopping: Elsewhere Vintage

February 24, 2011

It’s B. Styled Shopping time once again.. and this time I take you into one of my all time favorite vintage haunts – Elsewhere Vintage!

If you look at the current runway shows, you will find that collection after collection is inspired by eras gone by… wide leg pants, platform shoes, disco glamour and maxi skirts have all been around before our time. So for me, vintage is such a fun way to pull off the current trends.. and add a little something special to my everyday look.

Elsewhere Vintage is number one in my book for finding these special pieces, and I wanted to let you in on my crush.

Let’s see where, how and what.. Elsewhere Style!

*Special announcement at the end*

Right away, I am sucked in and running around squealing in excitement.. there is so much to take in.. where to begin?

Sparkles, sequins, fringe and hats galore.. I’m a very happy girl.

My first find is heaven! This sweater is Drama with a capital “D”. Fuzzy collar and drapey sleeves.. oh my!

 

There are frills and fancy at every turn.. bow-striped shoes for spring.. lace-up bustier to pair with a distressed tee and shorts for summer.. and slip heaven for a sweet night sleep.

 

If only I were a bride once again.. this dress would be lovely for a spring wedding.

 

Romance comes calling in this floral dress from the 30’s.

 

Dying over this cobalt blue turban!

 

I’m a gonner! A vintage piano shawl with intricate embroidery would make any outfit extra special.

 

Gobs and gobs of statement jewelry.

 

A fierce classic – camel and leopard.. these are a few of my favorite things.

 

Seriously, I love these plaid pants! A slouchy fit that cinches in at the ankle.. MUST-HAVE!

 

Ok.. is your jaw dropping? THIS IS VINTAGE VERSACE…and I’m drooling. The print.. the shape.. the pockets.. the bud at the slit.. Holy Moley.

 

This was my dream find! A 1930’s dress like no other.. summer wedding..anyone?

 

A peek inside my dressing room.

 

Another bold turban makes this girl giddy with delight!

 

Rine or shine.. I will always make time for Elsewhere Vintage.

 

Photos by Laurel Dailey

At last.. I have looked through every rack.. tried on every piece and it is time to wrap up and head out with my purchases.

I decide to choose the plaid pants and a vest (not pictured), but plan on saving my pennies for a few other pieces that need to be in my closet.

I  leave energized, elated and dreaming of dresses.

I hope you were enjoyed this prance around Elsewhere.. and I am sure some of you are thinking, “If only I lived around the corner and could buy fill in the blank”.

SO HERE IS THE ANNOUNCEMENT

If you liked one of these pieces and are interested in purchasing, you can email the shop, ask for pricing and have it shipped right to your closet. *No returns or refunds*

elsewherevintage@gmail.com

109 W Chapman Ave
Orange, CA 92866

Feel free to ask me questions about fit and description.

 

36 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2011 6:22 am

    woooooooooooooowwwwwww!!!!!! i want that turban and the fringe shawl!!!!! i want i want i want!

  2. February 24, 2011 6:29 am

    I would be in heaven at this shop! Makes me wish I lived over on the West coast!

  3. February 24, 2011 6:38 am

    Oh you could wonder around for such a long time, just take the day off and go to this fabulous store. What a great treasure. There are so many things to explore, love the fact that they so divers. They have clothing, accessories and so much more, and so many styles. What a great tip, thanks for sharing

  4. February 24, 2011 6:39 am

    I love when you take us to these places, i get so inspired and craving for shopping!

  5. February 24, 2011 6:40 am

    Beth, you are killing me with all of this vintage goody-ness. This shop looks well curated with such unique gems. I’m going to have to hunt down a nice vintage shop in my area because I really want some vintage jewelry.

    Those plaid pants were made for you and I can’t wait to see this vest you picked up. Too bad you left the Versace dress there. It is so gorgeous!!

  6. February 24, 2011 6:40 am

    This shop looks amazing! I love every piece you featured. I want that blue turban!

    xo L.

  7. February 24, 2011 6:43 am

    Wowzers. I wish you could have bought it all! Seriously, so many amazing things.

  8. February 24, 2011 7:55 am

    I love these features. It makes me feel like I’ve gone shopping with you! Fun-fun!

  9. February 24, 2011 8:37 am

    Wow this place looks great! If only I were in California!

    http://www.fashionablecollections.blogspot.com

  10. February 24, 2011 9:06 am

    just curious about the price-point on that stunning pink floral 1930’s slit shoulder dress….it’s got my name on it for sure! NYC thrift shopping/vintage shopping can be beyond my means at times, and I’m just curious how things are out in Orange these days🙂

    • February 24, 2011 10:04 am

      I don’t remember exactly, but the price points are great! A lot of pieces are under $100, except for the Versace and some of the evening gowns which might run closer to $150-$200.

  11. February 24, 2011 10:47 am

    I love the wedding dress, but I’m not sure how I’d feel about wearing a secondhand wedding dress to my wedding. I think I’s love to go vintage for my wedding rehearsal or something.

  12. February 24, 2011 11:52 am

    Oh my… I am in AWE! You have the greatest places to find things! I will have to make an adventure over to Orange to check this place out one weekend. Your pictures are amazing!!

    Laurenlovestoshare

  13. February 24, 2011 12:24 pm

    Love love love that wedding dress and the striped heels!

    http://www.thewrittenrunway.com

  14. February 24, 2011 1:56 pm

    Mrs. Jones I just love you. You were actually one of the first blogs I fell in love with and eventually lead me to starting my own. You’re fabulous.
    LOVE that strapless white tulle dress and that leopard/camel coat.
    Love (the girl who said you looked like a cross between Alicia Silvertone and Meg Ryan) Alana

  15. Liz permalink
    February 24, 2011 4:14 pm

    I always love your pics, but the photography in the post was especially lovely!
    Thanks for the inspiration, as always.

  16. February 24, 2011 5:06 pm

    OH MY!!! You definitely found some great items!! That cute little white dress is amazing, and the blue turban is freakin fab!!! I need to go there for sure next time! I don’t live that far, so it’s def. on my to-do-list.

    xoxo,
    melrod

  17. February 24, 2011 5:45 pm

    That camel/leopard coat is to DIE for…

    inspiring for sure

  18. February 24, 2011 5:48 pm

    DROOL. Love the turbans!

  19. February 24, 2011 5:50 pm

    Elsewhere is my favorite place to pop in to anytime I am in Orange County!

  20. February 24, 2011 6:13 pm

    Beautiful…. I wish we had this kind of stores in Brazil. I really miss vintages places down here.

    Have a nice weekend.

    http://www.bonnadea.blogspot.com

  21. February 25, 2011 2:57 am

    i love vintage. the shop is so cute:)
    xxxxxxxx
    https://amaturecouture.com/

  22. February 25, 2011 12:28 pm

    Looks like an amazing shop! What a fun shopping trip! I feel like it needed a soundtrack, like a movie scene of you trying all those outfits on. And I LOVE those plaid pants, what a perfect fit!

  23. February 26, 2011 3:12 am

    Love every piece! Blue turban is to die for!

  24. February 26, 2011 7:00 pm

    Omg, I totally want to go shopping with you! <#

  25. February 27, 2011 2:33 pm

    Wow, this shop looks amazing! Love those plaid pants!

  26. February 27, 2011 10:04 pm

    I seriously love that black and white floral Versace dress and that fuchsia turban. Those would look so great paired together!! Love your blog and all your findings…I want to plan a trip to Cali now to go to all the vintage store I’ve seen you feature on your blog. Have a great week, dear. xoxo -ashley

  27. February 28, 2011 4:18 am

    Such a cool place, I wish I could find a vintage place like that here.

  28. February 28, 2011 6:52 am

    This place looks absolutely incredible. This post is perfect!! It’s what every vintage shop should aspire to be like. Thanks BIG TIME for sharing. Need to come to CA ASAP!
    xx

  29. February 28, 2011 11:06 am

    Heaven! I’m going on Saturday!!

  30. March 1, 2011 12:06 pm

    This shop is my idea of heaven! Definitely on my must-visit list for when I visit LA later this year. Thanks for sharing! NHG x

  31. March 2, 2011 12:40 am

    Ok, A of all, I think you would be a dream of a shopping buddy. B of all, everything I see in Elsewhere looks like a dream. I’ll have to make a road trip to that corner of the world… Maybe I’ll even stop by for some styling tips!
    Love your blog. I am a loyal follower.
    Alice
    http://likeasilhouette.blogspot.com/

  32. March 3, 2011 11:13 am

    B. Jones,

    I was fascinated by this post and then realized I’m minutes down the road from Elsewhere Vintage and had to take a look! Thanks for the new find.

    Jenna

  33. April 3, 2011 10:18 am

    very great blog presentation and i luved the products specially the shoes and jewellery.

Leave a Reply

