Skip to content

Inside My Closet Doors: Spring Style!

March 18, 2011

Every year.. about this time.. I assess my closet.. it’s mixed and muddled with winter layers and recently purchased spring pieces and it makes me CRAZY!!

So.. I do the spring switcheroo!

I purge winter and bring in spring, and it’s an all day event. After all my hard work.. I feel refreshed, energized and ready to create a whole slew of new outfits.

I know you’ve seen my closet before.. but I thought it would be fun to see where spring has sprung.

Before I arrange my spring closet, I create my spring inspiration board.. it sets the tone for everything I want to wear this season.


My boots leave the main floor and make their way to the top shelf. I still want them accessible.. just not in the everyday shoe section.

My hats get made over as well, away with heavy and in with light.. lots of straw, florals and turban toppers.

 

The shoe rack now holds wedge sandals, floral heels and animal print strappy numbers.

 

My “B” (Bag and Beth) stand holds new punchy purses perfect for accessorizing a colorblocked or mix print ensemble.

 

Heavy scarves are replaced with light and bright.

 

This straw bag is ready and willing for a beach, flea market or picnic kind-of-day.

 

My shirt section is full of colors, prints and stripes… spring essentials.

 

Some old favorites are happy to be welcomed back into the dressing room!

 

Yes! It’s spring and a bright and happy place inspires me every morning!

29 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2011 6:27 am

    I’m so anxious to switch over my closet but the temperature just isn’t quite warm enough yet. Looks like it’ll be a very colourful Spring wardrobe in your closet!

    xo L.

  2. March 18, 2011 6:31 am

    I really love your big inspiration board. I think that would help me tremendously!

  3. March 18, 2011 6:35 am

    So excited by your closet cleanse! I am trying to hold out another few weeks for mine…my heart is ready for spring but the weather is usually crummy for…well, another couple months. But it’s amazing what tights and leggings can do, right? Yay spring!!!

  4. March 18, 2011 7:06 am

    I love seeing your closet!! And man you really think you things through, with the moodboard and your stylit. I understand now why your outfits are always so amazing!! Cannot wait to see what you will show us during this season of spring🙂
    xx
    Emy

    http://sweetpromises.tumblr.com/

  5. March 18, 2011 7:29 am

    I love your closet! I’m hoping to do the switch over in the next month, but the weather here in London isn’t anywhere near spring yet!

    The Vintage Huntress

  6. March 18, 2011 7:33 am

    Thanks for this — I was curious myself! I just made the switch this past week, and it is very fun to see old friends again and also to see things that suddenly it is clear no longer belong in my life.

  7. March 18, 2011 7:52 am

    the first picture is fabulous. love to see you in black (the outfit is divine BTW). so you are the center, but the colors of the clothing in the background are simple magnificent. you can almost feel spring. I admire the fact that you arrange your closet around an inspiration bord. how fabulous is that, so you know exactly what you want. love the different patterns and colors in your closet, your style is very divers but with a certain consistency.

  8. afashionablelifeforme permalink
    March 18, 2011 8:18 am

    I just read your post with one word going through my head
    WOW and can I say it again? WOW
    So fabulous! Have seen tons of your outfits but not your wardrobe. So envious!
    I have to show your second pic to my husband I have various tear sheets pinned to side of my wardrobe which is also my side of the bed and he doesn’t get it!
    Linda

  9. March 18, 2011 8:20 am

    So excited for Spring!!! I, too love lace! Your closet is amazing.

    xoxo,
    melrod

  10. cait4peace permalink
    March 18, 2011 8:59 am

    I can’t wait for spring! It’s just started warming up here so I’m not quite ready to switch over my closet but this made me excited to unpack all my dresses and sandals! When you switch your closet for the season do you go through your winter clothes before you pack them up? I’m moving in a few months and want to do a serious closet edit and would love any tips!

  11. March 18, 2011 9:09 am

    Oooh, I feel inspired. That’s just what I need to do in about a month when the weather gets better here. I’ll be bookmarking this for future reference – and LOVE the mood board.

  12. March 18, 2011 9:18 am

    I do the EXACT same thing!! I do the seasonal wardrobe swap twice a year!! I store my off season clothes in rubber made bins and keep them completely out of my closet. This way when I pull them out there are items I forgot I even had. It’s like things are new again! I am actually in the process of doing it now and will be posting it on my blog soon!
    (I do not however have an amazing closet like yours!! Biggest downfall of my apartment!! Your closet is a dream!!)

    http://www.glamlatte.com

  13. Joanna Gregory permalink
    March 18, 2011 10:06 am

    Wow!! You make my heart smile and my purse itchy!! and organisational skills… getting ready to go!

    Who knew re-organising could be so exciting!
    Loving your inspiration board🙂
    Just look at all those fun bright pieces waiting to be worn.

    Joanna

  14. Katie permalink
    March 18, 2011 10:22 am

    Envious of your closet!

    XO, Katie
    Running on Happiness

  15. March 18, 2011 10:55 am

    SWOON! Great closet.
    Where do you put your out 0f season stuff??

  16. March 18, 2011 11:26 am

    This post inspired me to plan a spring closet cleaning this weekend. Love these pictures, so fun.

  17. March 18, 2011 11:31 am

    Okay, so that day the I wake up and have a closet I know I will have died and am in HEAVEN. Also, like your inspiration board!

    Alice
    http://likeasilhouette.blogspot.com/

  18. March 18, 2011 1:28 pm

    That awesome that you take a day to do this. It shows true dedication to picking out the best outfits. I like to mix and match everything from different seasons and Iowa has weird weather so I always keep everything out and accessible.

    – Meanz (Koi Story)

  19. March 18, 2011 3:28 pm

    Your inspiration board is soooo clever! I wish my closet was bigger…my clothes are packed in there like sardines. You are so organized too….love it!

    PS I am hosting my first giveaway – a Wrapped To Wear bracelet. If you are interested in entering, here is the link: http://www.triplemaxtons.com/2011/03/wrapped-to-wear-giveaway.html🙂

  20. March 19, 2011 1:56 am

    Loving all the colors and prints here!

    I just stored my “winter winter” clothes away as it was very spring like outside and woke this morning to the snow outside! Very bad – I’ve nothing to wear now!

  21. March 19, 2011 10:33 am

    Ahhhh! My favorite post ever! I love your style!

  22. March 19, 2011 6:55 pm

    cute!! love the collage

    xx

    http://www.bijousstyle.com

  23. March 20, 2011 6:49 am

    oh my…can I borrow your closet?
    pretty please?
    LOL!

  24. March 20, 2011 2:24 pm

    Ahh booohooo😦 I live in NZ and will be switching from summer to autumn/winter soon! Farewell wedges and straw hats, it was fun while it lasted!

    Sadie x

    http://whatsadiedid.blogspot.com/

  25. March 20, 2011 2:49 pm

    I JUST got California Closets to come in and build me a WHOLE new closet (Vday gift from the hubs) and I did the SAME THING. Put all of the heavy stuff away in garment bags to hang in a different closet and all the spring/transition pieces came front and center…I am reinvigorated and can’t wait to get dressed in the morning…lol.
    Come to think, I should probably do a closet post to show off my new digs:)
    Hope you had a great weekend.
    C

  26. March 20, 2011 3:26 pm

    Thanks for giving us a sneak peek, I’m currently transitioning my closet as well and it’s a pain in the rear! I love the inspiration looks in the closet, I have a board in my workroom, I’m going to move it now! #youdabomb

  27. March 20, 2011 3:35 pm

    woman I am so jealous of a) your closet and b) the fact spring has arrived on the west coast. It’s supposed to SNOW again here next week!

    Lucy xx

  28. March 21, 2011 3:41 am

    That is one beautifully organised closet – will be taking a few tips when I bring in my spring & summer wear. In fact… even though it’s not quite warm enough just yet – I might make a start this weekend. Inspired! Hope you had a great weekend! x

  29. March 21, 2011 10:26 am

    Your closet is incredible. Absolutely love the idea of an inspiration board.

    http://www.fashionablecollections.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

