Skip to content

B. Styled Shopping: Thrifting at SAVERS!

March 22, 2011

It is B. Styled Shopping at your service.. this time around.. THRIFT SHOPPING!

Yes.. I do it a lot! I have my favorite spots and I spend multiple hours a month wheeling a cart through racks and racks of thrift store goodness.

To take you into my thrifting addiction, I invited along another blogger, Rachel from That’s Chic (love her style!), and we hit up my all time favorite thrift store – SAVERS. It is the department store of thrift spots and there is no way you can’t find at least one thing fabulous.. though I usually find twenty things.

Let’s see where, how and what.. Savers Style!

"Thrift Shopping, How to Thrift Shop, Thrift Shopping Style, That's Chic, Savers"
"Thrift Shopping, How to Thrift Shop, Thrift Shopping Style, That's Chic, Savers"

Before the thrift adventure begins.. I think about dressing necessities.. a skirt (to slip things easily under), minimal layers (so as not to fuss), an over the shoulder or fab pack (to keep my hands free), and heels (because this girls like to try things on with a little height!

"Thrift Shopping, How to Thrift Shop, Thrift Shopping Style, That's Chic, Savers"

Joining me is Rachel from “That’s Chic“.. she searches for texture and quality.. has an obsession with button-ups.. and is looking for more bold colors to mix into her spring closet.

Me.. I start with pants.. move to skirts.. then to dresses.. and run through shirts. I’m looking for color, big-bold prints and anything unique that pops.

 

"Thrift Shopping, How to Thrift Shop, Thrift Shopping Style, That's Chic, Savers"
"Thrift Shopping, How to Thrift Shop, Thrift Shopping Style, That's Chic, Savers"Savers.. it’s HUGE.. but it’s really well organized by size and color.. you can quickly fly through sections and find your must-haves. The prices vary.. but most things are under $10.. and there is always 1/2 off “color of the day” tags.

"Thrift Shopping, How to Thrift Shop, Thrift Shopping Style, That's Chic, Savers"
"Thrift Shopping, How to Thrift Shop, Thrift Shopping Style, That's Chic, Savers"Rachel and I split up.. heading to our favorite spots. She finds a quirky red jacket with silver elephant buttons and I dive into a world of brightly colored pants.

"Thrift Shopping, How to Thrift Shop, Thrift Shopping Style, That's Chic, Savers"Inspections take place between racks.. a leopard print blouse or a bold crochet skirt that just might works as a dress.. mmm.. we will see.


"Thrift Shopping, How to Thrift Shop, Thrift Shopping Style, That's Chic, Savers"My heart pitter-pats when I find this on-trend oriental jacket.. thinking it will be a great throw-on to make any look spark.

"Thrift Shopping, How to Thrift Shop, Thrift Shopping Style, That's Chic, Savers"Rachel.. and everyone else.. swoons at this killer dress! Now she needs somewhere fabulous to take it.

 

"Thrift Shopping, How to Thrift Shop, Thrift Shopping Style, That's Chic, Savers"

We both dig.. searching for treasures.

 

"Thrift Shopping, How to Thrift Shop, Thrift Shopping Style, That's Chic, Savers"
A few treasures among the racks.. Members Only.. Sparkle Shoes.. and Oscar De La Renta.

"Thrift Shopping, How to Thrift Shop, Thrift Shopping Style, That's Chic, Savers"
"Thrift Shopping, How to Thrift Shop, Thrift Shopping Style, That's Chic, Savers"After digging for a while, my cart is over-flowing.. everything is exactly as I hoped.. bright, bold and oh-so-spring!

Time to try it all on.

"Thrift Shopping, How to Thrift Shop, Thrift Shopping Style, That's Chic, Savers"We are hat girls.. with a fab dress.. belt … and look at this great bag!

"Thrift Shopping, How to Thrift Shop, Thrift Shopping Style, That's Chic, Savers"Rachel is a show-stopper in her blue and black leather dress. With her bold lips and perfectly tousled hair.. she could walk out right now and hit the “it” spot in the city.

 

"Thrift Shopping, How to Thrift Shop, Thrift Shopping Style, That's Chic, Savers"I’m in love with this pencil skirt.. and can you believe the button-detail in the back?

"Thrift Shopping, How to Thrift Shop, Thrift Shopping Style, That's Chic, Savers"Yes.. to both.. this silk top.. these pink pants.. they are coming home with me.. NOW!

"Thrift Shopping, How to Thrift Shop, Thrift Shopping Style, That's Chic, Savers"Rachel’s picks!

"Thrift Shopping, How to Thrift Shop, Thrift Shopping Style, That's Chic, Savers"My picks! (plus a few more things.. not pictured)

"Thrift Shopping, How to Thrift Shop, Thrift Shopping Style, That's Chic, Savers"And look at that.. a huge bag full.. and only $44.58!

"Thrift Shopping, How to Thrift Shop, Thrift Shopping Style, That's Chic, Savers"It was a good day.. a thrifting success.. and we both leave ready to take our new finds out for a spin.

Thrift shopping.. it takes a little vision.. a little time.. but in the end it is so worth it.

Expect lots of looks working in my Savers scores.

FInd a SAVERS near you.

Photos by Laurel Dailey

50 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2011 6:25 am

    I am so jealous! I usually leave a thrift store with one or two things that need to be altered and then I never get around to altering them! Lucky girls!

    http://www.daysofsplendor.com

  2. March 22, 2011 6:32 am

    I am inspired! …to THRiFT like an animal!๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. March 22, 2011 7:34 am

    Beth, this is an awesome post! I have never been thrifting except for T-shirts, and this is a great how-to! The closest Savers to me is a few hours away, but I’m going to do it!!!

  4. March 22, 2011 7:47 am

    I am in love with that electric blue/black dress! Hot!

    xo L.

  5. March 22, 2011 8:13 am

    Such a great post…maybe one of my favorites. Savers is really such a great place..might have to hit up the one near my parents house in Ohio next time I’m visiting!

  6. March 22, 2011 8:26 am

    That store looks amazing! Thrift/secondhand in London can be so expensive…I want to visit a Savers!

  7. March 22, 2011 8:28 am

    its so nice to see you on your shopping play date! Although now all I want to do is go out shopping!!!! LOVE the pencil skirt. GREAT pattern. xo, Kim http://www.eatsleepwear.com

  8. March 22, 2011 8:35 am

    there is one right by my work…always wondered what it was! i must go now. LOVE the blue/ black leather dress she got. great finds all around!

  9. kRISSY permalink
    March 22, 2011 8:52 am

    Please please tell me where you purchased your fanny pack. I need it! Thanks!

  10. March 22, 2011 9:00 am

    Wow this is so helpful! I wish I had your eye for things that would work๐Ÿ™‚ I need you as my thrifting buddy!

    xo
    Erin

  11. Claudia Nieto permalink
    March 22, 2011 9:25 am

    Love Savers! I’ve found many beautiful items there and at such a great price. I got a pair of boots for 50% off an already crazy bargain. I also shop at Lincoln Thrift, just a block away, not as bright and organized, but very fun to search for treasures. A lot of my favorite dresses are from there. If you ever need a thrifting buddy, I would be more than happy to tag along. Keep it up Beth, you’re my inspiration!!

  12. March 22, 2011 9:37 am

    Those bright pants are fabulous finds!!! You both found great pieces!! I’m definitely looking online for the closest Savers.

    xoxo,
    melrod

  13. March 22, 2011 9:40 am

    Y’all found some great items! And of course, you both looked so stylish while doing it. You’ve inspired me to head to my nearest Savers ASAP. I’m a huge Goodwill fan, but I’ve never really gone anywhere else to thrift. I’m so excited, I’m going to try to squeeze in a trip this evening!

  14. March 22, 2011 9:49 am

    Great purchases! Looks like so much fun.

    http://www.fashionablecollections.blogspot.com

  15. Sharon Haas permalink
    March 22, 2011 9:57 am

    Savers in my favorite too – Don’t miss the bed and bath dept – I find quilts that are beautiful, tons of slip covers for making over my living room and anything made out of fabric can be turned into a unique window curtain!

    • March 22, 2011 10:09 am

      Sharon.. that is a great idea! I check out homes stuff a lot but not bed and bath.. will do that next time.

  16. March 22, 2011 10:00 am

    You have no idea how much i want to move to usa right, next to savers ofc!

  17. March 22, 2011 10:01 am

    That thrift store look amazing! It puts the ones I visit to shame! You ladies found some great pieces : )

  18. March 22, 2011 10:35 am

    These pieces you both found are FANTASTIC!! Rachel’s blue and black dress is totally killer!

    I must work on my thrifting prowess, it’s not easy to find the good stuff!

  19. March 22, 2011 10:40 am

    well both of you look fabulous. i love your skirt, the colors are just amazing. it is not obvious to wear socks with the shoes, but it looks amazing on you. the attention goes to the skirt because of the black, and this is just perfect. i love to see you girls shopping and finding the most exuberant pieces. i do not take the time to look for true treasures in a vintage store. but you know how to do it. hope you had a wonderful time.

  20. March 22, 2011 11:01 am

    Wow, we just don’t have shops like this in the UK – it looks amazing! you could loose days in there! I’m new to your blog by the way and jsut wanted to say its fab!

  21. carly permalink
    March 22, 2011 11:33 am

    Looks like you made out great….you do find the hidden treasures girl!
    I went thrifting yesterday …I am always on the search for vintage jewelry and estate sale pieces. Found the prettiest on trend floral vintage necklaces that I can’t wait to wear and post.

    Such a great feeling when you find something fab for 6 dollars TOTAL.
    C

  22. March 22, 2011 11:51 am

    Wow this store looks amazing! I must check it out! Looks like you got some amazing pieces. Love the bright colored pants…

    http://foodfashionandflow.blogspot.com/

  23. March 22, 2011 12:15 pm

    Loving the blue and black color blocked dress, so flattering!

    Love,
    http://www.thewrittenrunway.com

  24. Aga permalink
    March 22, 2011 12:37 pm

    OK, I need some thrift shopping NOW! ๐Ÿ™‚ Haven’t done it for a while anyway, so the right time has come!

    x

    http://www.style-pursuit.blogspot.com
    SHOP MY CLOSET http://www.stylish-bargains.blogspot.com

  25. March 22, 2011 12:39 pm

    What an amazing post! Love that you took us shopping with you. You are so cute and so engaging!
    Love everything you ladies got. I will def have to give Savers a try.
    xo
    http://www.hourglass-fashion.blogspot.com

  26. March 22, 2011 2:07 pm

    I recently discovered Savers Thrift Store. Great store! Good finds!

  27. March 22, 2011 3:05 pm

    I love thrifting! Great post! I love your blog! Please check out mine and follow if you’d like๐Ÿ™‚

    http://www.SimpleStyleSecrets.com

  28. March 22, 2011 6:37 pm

    Amazing… How I wish could tag along… Looks like the most fun ever!

    http://likeasilhouette.blogspot.com/

  29. March 22, 2011 7:09 pm

    Fabulous finds! I’m still mourning the loss of the Huntington Beach Savers!โค

  30. March 22, 2011 7:41 pm

    Savers is one of my favorite stores. After reading this today I ran there and picked up some great things too! You look fabulous!

    xox

    http://www.devonrachel.blogspot.com

  31. March 22, 2011 8:02 pm

    In Canada it’s called Value Village, looks like VV and Savers are owned by the same company?
    Anyhoo, I usually go once a week and almost never leave without at least one treasure! FUN.

  32. March 22, 2011 8:07 pm

    This was such a fantastic post B! Wish I would of thought of it first considering I’m like a thrifting queen and you captured the essence of thrifting! Love your and Rachel’s finds. Don’t you love when you score that one perfect piece and then all of a sudden, it’s piece after piece after piece, score score score? Ya, that’s why I can only thrift/vintage scour than “fast-fashion” shop. Go fig.

    xx,
    Christina

  33. March 22, 2011 11:40 pm

    Love this! Off to find the nearest Savers near me!๐Ÿ˜‰

  34. March 23, 2011 3:33 am

    looks like so much fun:) love the stuff xx the cookies
    visit our blog if you likeโค
    http://www.samecookiesdifferent.blogspot.com

  35. March 23, 2011 12:15 pm

    thanks for sharing… i feel so inspired… i could go green with envy because of this thrift paradise…

    when it wasn’t to late now, i would jump into the charity shop around the corner to rummage throught the racks -just to alley my thrift shopping lust.

    http://wardrobexperience.blogspot.com

  36. March 23, 2011 4:23 pm

    Love the orange hat, did you buy the skirt/dress it looked like such a pretty colour for you๐Ÿ™‚ Also I wanted to let you know that I’m organizing Wikifashion meetups for next month (I’m visiting from Australia), we’ll be having one in SF if you’d like to come along?

  37. March 23, 2011 5:25 pm

    I need to know the name and brand of the lipstick Rachel is wearing? It is amazing and I need it!

  38. March 23, 2011 6:49 pm

    Ahhh SO jealous! Such great finds!

    xox Lexi
    Glitter & Pearls

  39. March 23, 2011 10:49 pm

    I feel like I have just found my long lost soul mate! I recently just started blogging all of my fashion…most of which I have gotten at second hand stores…and most of which is from Savers! Love this!

    Shana
    ColorBlind
    THRIFTERS WANTED LINK UP HERE

  40. March 24, 2011 3:19 am

    Gosh I wish we had a SAVERS right here:) The thrift stores aren’t here aren’t the greatest and their usually really small and overpriced:( It looks like you got some fabulous stuff again, can’t wait to see it!!
    xx
    Emy

    http://sweetpromises.tumblr.com/

  41. Judith permalink
    March 24, 2011 7:46 pm

    I. Love. Your. Blog! Love how you show where you go, how to do your hair and showing off your bedroom. Can’t wait to do some thrift shopping myself! Thanks B. Jones for the inspiration!

  42. March 24, 2011 9:33 pm

    Thrift shopping is so worth it, so fun, and so addicting!! Fun read!
    Hollie

  43. March 25, 2011 8:36 am

    AW!! Savers is my FAVE of all time!!๐Ÿ™‚ We have a really good one here in Az. and there is a Really rad one hidden in Bremerton Washington. I think a lot of old people live there and they donate their vintage stuff. And no one is fashionable enough to see the goodness.๐Ÿ™‚ JACKPOT!! I want to go on your next one.๐Ÿ™‚

    • March 25, 2011 8:46 am

      Yes! I really want to head up to Bremerton.. that one sounds amazing!!

  44. March 27, 2011 5:20 pm

    Thrifting really does require some time and energy but is totally worth it. I spent the morning at my favorite thrift store with my sister and after trying on probably 20 pieces ended up with 3 but they were totally worth it! Plus, I found some amazing canary yellow pumps circa: 1984 for only $2.99 (they were on tag sale!)

    PS: great tips on wearing the right clothes for trying on finds, I always go for comfort first when thrift shopping!

  45. March 28, 2011 11:04 am

    Ahhhh! LOOOVE this post! So fun to go vicariously thrifting with you. Why oh why did no one get the yellow crocheted skirt?! – I want it!!!

    Also bravo for being hat girls๐Ÿ™‚ there’s not enough of them out there.

  46. March 29, 2011 9:38 am

    I LOVE this post! I’m from the UK and the only kind of shops we have like Savers is T.K Maxx, which in the U.S is weirdly called T.J Maxx! Anyway, I’m going on holiday with my family to Florida in May and now I cannot wait to get thrifting! Amazing finds – I LOVE the Hawaiian shirt and pink flared trousers combo, you’ve got great taste!

  47. March 30, 2011 9:15 am

    gaaah, so jealous!๐Ÿ™‚
    we don’t have many vintage stores in my town (or island even, heh) so im always envious of such expeditions! although my sister did mention she saw a promising second-hand shop down a side street yesterday… i don’t expect it to be a fabulous as your savers but i might go check it out at the weekend, you’ve inspired me once again! x

Trackbacks

  1. Skyscrapers « The Style Voyager

Leave a Reply

