Skip to content

Inside my Workspace

January 13, 2011

Since moving into my new home, I have been hard at work on decorating and making it my own. My closet was first priority.. but a close second was my workspace.

Since I work from home, this space had to be special and reflect my style. I need to be inspired everyday.. and I wanted to create a place where that would happen.

Now complete.. I thought I would let you inside.

I wanted my space to be glamorous, bohemian, bright and a mix of old and new. A few key pieces set the foundation and from there I built the rest of my vision.

Key pieces included: The black desk (refurbished thrift find), a red cabinet (new) and a Persian rug (old picked up at an antique store).

The desk and cabinet were brought from my old home, but once placed in the office.. they took on a whole new life.

*My little pup, Dudley, gets the bed under the desk.

The red cabinet was a wedding gift and used to be filled with this and that, but I loved the idea of opening the doors and showing off the inside. It quickly became the showcase for my favorite “inspiration rags”, and I added a few finds from thrift stores to glam it up a bit. The top was decorated with globes left over from the previous owners and I added a branch picked up from my old backyard.

My desk needs to be functional and stylish.. so I added white accents and filled them with necessities. Besides the books and computer, everything was discovered in thrift stores (many thrift stores fill their shelves with bric-a-brac separated by color, I was looking for white.. which meant I spent many hours searching the white sections of goodwill, salvation army and many more).

Close to my desk, I covered the wall with white foam board picked up at Target. I tacked them close together to create a full wall ready to fill with inspiration. As you can see fall is tacked on but spring is creeping in. I love glancing over while sitting at my desk – it gives me a quick shot of rejuvenation every time.

STYLIT sits front and center.. making sure I can plan out my week and mark my appointments.

Behind my desk are my bookshelves that work as a display case, a storage space and.. of course.. a home for my books.

The storage boxes were picked up at Ikea, the books I’ve collected over the years and the bric-a-brac was discovered in thrift stores, vintage haunts and flea markets.

I topped off the shelves with a quirky rack I found in a thrift store, it was brown, but I spray painted it white and left it as an art piece. I set out two of my favorite vintage hats and used the shelves to show off some of my favorite fashion books.

I used a Barbara Streisand record (I am a total Babs girl.. I know kinda crazy) to block a section of books that were silly (you know chick-lit).

The top of the long shelf is filled with glamour and some personal favorites. The fashion sketch is my wedding dress drawn by the designer, Ines Di Santo and the photo is a favorite from my summer travels to Europe taken by Laurel Dailey.

So there it is.. my workspace! More rooms to come…

61 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 6:18 am

    Love your vintage print and i also have the barbra album.. great blog!

  2. January 13, 2011 6:20 am

    ahhh i love it! i’m obsessed with the rug. this has inspired me to do a post on my apartment!

  3. January 13, 2011 6:34 am

    WOW, this is beautiful!!!! You really have good tase, i love it!
    x
    wwwLIVINGandFASHION.blogspot.com

  4. January 13, 2011 6:41 am

    Ahh, this is such a fun post!! I recently found out that we are moving very soon (for the fella’s job) and I am now going to be working from home for my current job, so will be setting up a home office as well in our new place! It is safe to say it won’t be anywhere near as glamorous as this, but this definitely provides some awesome inspiration! Thanks lady! Beautiful space!

  5. January 13, 2011 6:45 am

    Wow, it’s gorgeous. I have a ton of stuff to do to my house, hopefully when I finish it might look this good! The inspiration wall is a great idea too, I keep all my pictures in a book but might have to sort myself out a wall board now!

    Tracey xx

  6. chichichic! permalink
    January 13, 2011 6:50 am

    so beautiful, well done, perfectly decorated!

  7. Sarah permalink
    January 13, 2011 6:57 am

    The quirky rack you found looks like it was originally a wine rack, nice idea to make it a piece of art.

  8. January 13, 2011 6:59 am

    Oh Beth, this is lovely. Currently my house is too small to dedicate one room as my office, but it’s certainly on my dream list for our next home. Somewhere that belongs just to you, just for you-love that.

    The textures in this space are so rich and seeing how much those special little details add to the room is quiet reminder that details, when done right, are not clutter. Well, you know what they say: God is in the details (wait, don’t they say that about the devil too?).

    My favorite thing by far though? Your white wing-back chair as your desk chair. Very elegant, dare I say even a little regal? Well, I suppose every woman needs her throne.

    Have a great day,
    Megan

    • January 13, 2011 8:41 am

      Thanks so much Megan. I really wanted a wing back chair, and found this one on Craigslist. It was a little short for the desk, so my husband installed roller which gave it height and made it perfect for the desk.

  9. Shayna permalink
    January 13, 2011 7:19 am

    Oooh I love this post! I hope you post more of your beautiful rooms as you complete them! Would also love to see some pictures of your poochy Dudley 🙂

  10. January 13, 2011 7:20 am

    love it – you did a beautiful job!! 🙂 and it looks really lived in and i know you just moved recently.

    http://www.workyourcloset.com

  11. January 13, 2011 7:24 am

    Stylist and interior decorator! girl you amaze me!

  12. Caroline permalink
    January 13, 2011 7:27 am

    What a wonderful post! So inspirational. Kinda kicks my butt a bit to regain some momentum in decorating some unloved parts of my home. I love all of your personal touches.

  13. January 13, 2011 7:34 am

    Oh, this is too gorgeous!! Everything is full of personality and it’s clean and organized. It is the perfect kind of workspace.
    You put my desk “area” to shame which is always full of clutter. I’m working on clearing out and hope to get a more cohesive looking space.
    I look forward to the rest of the rooms!!

  14. January 13, 2011 7:37 am

    Great workspace!!! So neat, organized, yet shows your personal style.

    Prissy
    http://www.rushourfashion.com

  15. January 13, 2011 7:39 am

    I really like what you did with that red cabinet – it’s beautiful.

  16. January 13, 2011 7:50 am

    ohhhh AMAZZZZING work space!!! It’s sooo happy, and gorgeous and clean and lux!!!! GRRREat colors and love BARB STreisand..have you heard that Duck Sauce song dedicated to her?!?!! It’s soooo good!!!! I don’t think we are gonna make it to that conference but it looks soooo coool..if anything changes, we’ll keep ya posted babe!!!
    kisses
    xoThe Beckerman Girls

    http://www.BeckermanBitePlate.com

    • January 13, 2011 8:35 am

      Thanks Beckerman Girls! I haven’t heard the Duck Sauce song, but will check it out now. Hope eventually it works out to meet up in NYC sometime.

  17. January 13, 2011 8:07 am

    I love your style, so chic with the right amount of comfort. Definitely inspiring, thanks for sharing!

  18. January 13, 2011 8:16 am

    hiding the chick lit, love it! nice space.

  19. January 13, 2011 9:13 am

    Absolutely beautiful! Your fashion style sense clearly carries over into your decorating! Love!

  20. January 13, 2011 9:17 am

    Your office is amazing! you have a great eye for interior design!

  21. January 13, 2011 9:26 am

    Everything is so inspirational! I’ve saved most of these for my future reference. Definitely something to aspire to! 🙂

    XXo,
    Neekoh

  22. Zooey permalink
    January 13, 2011 9:28 am

    Hey Beth,
    That’s my first comment on your blog. Sorry for my english, I come from France and as you known it, maybe, we are not the best one in english. I discover your blog one years ago and since i’m addicted!
    I reenjoy to discover your other house rooms because i really like your style and how you decorate your flat. You give me the envy to decorate my rooms with white things and that what i’ve done and it was a real good idea!! I almays find a new idea to decorate when i see your house!
    I find your “look” so bohemian even if I would never have enough personality or courage to wear your clothes! But maybe later, when my studies will be over and when i will have more time and money to bought me beautiful clothes!
    Just to say you that you have to “fan” in France and to encourage you to continue to make me/us dream!
    Zooey

    • January 13, 2011 9:30 am

      Thanks Zooey! I love having friends in France.. such a beautiful and amazing country.

  23. January 13, 2011 9:42 am

    Oh, now THAT’S lovely. Very you. Maybe I should move in so I can get some actual work done!

  24. January 13, 2011 9:46 am

    I love looking at how people style their home offices. Thanks for sharing. I am in the middle of turning my unused dining room into a studio for all my interests. I only recently found your blog and I am loving it. I am also a fan of vintage and I enjoy rummaging through the racks at goodwill and other thrift stores. It’s nice to find a kindred spirit!

  25. January 13, 2011 10:02 am

    This is the perfect example of totally random but completely put together and I absolutely adore it. I especially love the Barbara record peaking out. Perfection.

  26. January 13, 2011 10:49 am

    i love this…looks like it off a magazine!
    http://www.fashionablenotebook.blogspot.com

  27. January 13, 2011 10:49 am

    I just ordered my own STYLIT! Can’t wait to use it!

  28. January 13, 2011 11:01 am

    Love the framed vintage Vogue and the chair looks so great!
    ~Giselle
    http://www.machinewashwarm.blogspot.com

  29. January 13, 2011 12:09 pm

    Lovely!

    I love the mix of old & new, just perfect.
    And I absolutely love how you keep the red cabinet open.. beautiful touch 🙂

    xo Nadia

  30. January 13, 2011 12:11 pm

    Um, can i please come and work out of your house please. I. DIE!

  31. January 13, 2011 12:21 pm

    You’ve very inspiring space to work in! I really love your old Vogue posters.

  32. January 13, 2011 12:46 pm

    Wow, what a great space to work in! I love your metal ampersand, I have a couple myself. 🙂

  33. mel permalink
    January 13, 2011 1:14 pm

    Beth — I need you to come move into my house, redecorate it, and plan my outfits every day!! Amazing!!

  34. January 13, 2011 2:50 pm

    Love your space, I’m decorating mine now. I may have to borrow some ideas!

    Whitney
    http://www.MyStylishFriends.blogspot.com

  35. January 13, 2011 5:39 pm

    ohhh your workspace is lovely and it total reflection of the person that works there: YOU!

    F-A-B
    and the flower arrangement what a gem…

    muhmamashop.blogspot.com

  36. January 13, 2011 5:41 pm

    thanks for the sneak peak of your work space. ❤ hopefully we will see the picture of your pup in the future.

  37. January 13, 2011 6:33 pm

    Beth!! Your office looks fantastic. Its the perfect mix of old and new and I love it. Its the perfect reflection of your taste. Can’t wait to see the next room!

    jen
    http://blankwhiteframes.blogspot.com

  38. January 13, 2011 7:21 pm

    Babs is fabulous and so is your office space!

    Thank you for sharing.

    http://alittlewhitemouse.blogspot.com/

  39. January 13, 2011 7:29 pm

    I just might have to steal your idea for the inspiration board. Such an awesome solution for constant collagers like myself. Also, I love all of your details!

    xx
    J
    jessicahagy.blogspot.com

  40. January 13, 2011 8:18 pm

    What a beautiful space! So inspiring! You’re very lucky to be able to work there everyday.

    xx Melina

    .but i like it.

  41. January 13, 2011 9:20 pm

    i loved this post! so fun to see where you work. it’s so chic and honestly, i would expect nothing less from you–it’s perfect!

  42. Nerea permalink
    January 13, 2011 11:40 pm

    Hi Beth,

    Really love you workspace!!! the mix of colors, materials and the light the room has makes it perfect. The orange lamp makes a difference….congratulations!!!!!!

  43. January 14, 2011 7:17 am

    so gorgeous! I love the chairs, desk , & rug! And it made me laugh that you used B. Streisand to cover your girly novels haha!

  44. January 14, 2011 8:21 am

    I love how bright and stylish your space is. And I love how you can tell it belongs to a real person who really works in it! So lovely.

  45. January 14, 2011 2:47 pm

    Oj my I loved so much. Can I used the idea in my new space ?

    xoxo

    biologadesalto.blogspot.com

  46. hayley permalink
    January 14, 2011 9:22 pm

    I love the little dog bed. Where did you get it?

  47. January 15, 2011 7:50 am

    Wow,,I like it…since moving into my new home.

  48. Naomi permalink
    January 15, 2011 9:40 am

    I’m in love!! you are rockin that office!!! Love everything you’ve done with it!!

  49. Ali permalink
    January 15, 2011 2:19 pm

    Thank you for giving us a peek into your sanctuary. It’s beautiful.

  50. Ainslie permalink
    January 16, 2011 10:06 am

    Wow – I just found your site and like someone else said, you’ve got a kindred spirit here. You are however a whole level higher in terms of finished, polished, ready for photography. It inspires me to do the same for those not-quite-finished areas (closet, guest room.) I hope you will show more of your house as it gets done.
    Are the white bookcases ikea?

  51. January 17, 2011 6:34 pm

    I really like what you’ve done with the shelving. Showing the covers of the books…I’m going to feature on my blog and put a link back to this because the whole space is pretty fab.

  52. January 19, 2011 9:03 am

    Beth– I love love love this!!

  53. January 20, 2011 9:14 am

    You’ve inspired me to spruce up my own space! It truly helps the creativity flow if your surroundings are right. Love the framed Vogue print and the bust.
    xo Cara
    http://www.afashionloveaffair.com/

Trackbacks

  1. Fashionalities- Home Must-Have: Mirrored Accents Fashionalities
  2. office space of the day… fashionista fierce-ness | LAWoman
  3. Decorating & Making Bookshelves Visually Interesting… « Design Indulgences

Leave a comment